We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd stay at this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Waikiki Resort to your Saves list
Waikiki Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2460 Koa Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2015 Early Bird Savings!
Ranked #37 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“2nd stay at this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in Aug 2010 and I went back in April 2012. It's still a great place if you're looking for a basic, no frills, clean and convenient hotel in Waikiki. It's in a great location.

During my first stay, my room was very close to the elevators, and I found that a bit noisy. This time around, I asked for a room away from the elevators and it was great! No complaints!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    261
    110
    40
    15
See reviews for
163
237
49
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Waikiki Resort Hotel and were very impressed!
It was our honeymoon and they upgraded us to a suite on the 18th floor, It was magical! 2 rooms, King bed,(which was sooo comfortable, also they had like 10 pillows in the room of varrying firmness to suite your needs) fridge, microwave, 2 tV's and a balcony overlooking the mountains. Clean, the cleaning staff were always on hand if we needed anything. They had beachtowels for rent (free) in the basement, as many as you needed daily.The pool was clean and virtually unused by other guests so we were out there most days by ourselves. The hotel is a short 3 min walk to the beach, close to reastaurants, shopping, across the street from a fancy buffet at the Pacific beach hotel. Close to Waikiki beach, where you can catch the trollies for $2. Also about a 10 min walk to the Zoo. Very close to Diamond head.
Our Flight wasn't leaving until 10 pm and with check out at 12 noon, we could check our luggage with them for $1. Peace of mind was great.
The front desk staff always had great suggestions for where to eat, what to do and we were always greeted with a smile. The buffet breakfast was good, $15 each, a little short staffed, but the food was good. We never ened up trying the Korean restaurant tho.
Overall a great place to stay, and WHEN we go back, it will be at this HOTEL! :D

Room Tip: -Tell them you are on your honeymoon and see what they can do to upgrade -a corner suit was very qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

Tired hotel in need of some updates, but can't beat the location and good value. Bed was mushy, tiny shower, and decor did not all match. Parking is very limited. Front desk staff was friendly but clueless as concierges.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

I was in Oahu last week for my annual vacation. I stayed at the Outrigger Reef last year but decided to stay at this hotel following the recommendations of friends and TripAdvisor reviews and am happy to say that the reviews were correct (great location, value and friendly staff).

First the perks:
Location - it's short block away from the beach, McDonald's and other restaurants are a 3 min. walk.

Amenities - you have free access to a mini-fridge where you fill it with drinks/snacks purchased at an ABC store (literally, there is 3 or 4 ABC stores within a 5 min. walk) and an in-house safe where you can place your valuables.

The staff were helpful and friendly (I was given a free upgrade from partial to full Ocean view on the 18th floor). The additional perk being in this room was that I was able to receive free wifi access (via. shakanet).

The rooms were clean, bed was comfortable, there were ample towels, loved the view from my balcony and the great air conditioner control system.

I really don't have anything bad to say about the hotel. Just realize because of it's great location, expect some traffic/noise (if facing the beach). It's an "older" hotel that was remodeled and contains only a shower tub. I found the alarm clock radio a little confusing to use so I used my IPhone alarm instead.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again. To make a smooth transition (to/from airport, go with Roberts Hawaii shuttle service). Mahalo!

Room Tip: Ask to grab a higher level floor away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Best hotel in Waikiki, away from the noisy busy streets yet just a block away from the beach. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable with lots and lots of pillows, we slept like babies. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

My wife and I travel often and do a lot of research before booking any Hotel....we have learned the hard way through the years...That said, this choice Hotel will be our new "Home " next time we visit....Great location..close enough to everything in the area but far enough (one block) to avoid the night life carnival that takes place nightly on the main drag.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

This hotel was terrific. The bed was very comfortable and room met all our needs. We were on the tenth floor with a king size bed and could see the ocean. The room was very clean and the service each day was great. Always enough towels. The bathroom itself is a little small but it works. The area with the sink provided lots of room to get ready. In reference to the location of the hotel, it was perfect. Only one block from the beach. We had a car and the underground parking gave you the flexibility of unlimited in and out access each day. The staff was very pleasant and helpful, the check in was smooth and quick. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waikiki Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Resort

Address: 2460 Koa Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#35 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#36 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waikiki Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reputable for its outstanding value and convenience in location, this 275 room hotel is ideally located just steps from famous Waikiki Beach and nearby dining and shopping. This full-service hotel features comfortable guestrooms, meeting rooms, event facilities, two restaurants, a bar lounge, and a swimming pool. Just recently refurbished, each guest room features air conditioning, 32" flat panel TV, compact refrigerator, coffee-maker, internet access (fee), iron and board, voice mail, and safe. The lobby features complimentary wi-fi access, a business center, and an Expedia concierge desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Waikiki Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Waikiki Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikiki Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.