We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nuuanu Valley Rain Forest

Nuuanu Valley Rain Forest
Old Nuuanu Pali Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 155 attractions in Honolulu
Type: Forests
Attraction Details
Chula Vista, California
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is a lookout area. The view is beautiful. There are 3 signs/ placards explaining the history of the area and its significance.
We only stopped to look at the view- we did not do the hike as other reviewers did.
I did not like that you had to pay for parking- don't remember the fee. There was a machine, but no attendant.
As we were leaving, my son was fascinated with the many, many chickens and colorful roosters in the shrubbery. We had been about to get in the car when we stopped to look for roosters. A police car came up and asked us if that was our car- think he was concerned it had been vandalized as we had left the car door open.
Enjoy, but be careful of your valuables.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Beautiful rainforest overlook. Easy to drive. Paid parking only downside. Wild, colorful chickens abound around parking area. We encountered a small tour group with local "talking story" at the overlook. I listened and heard several little tidbits of info. Mahalo. Short drive from Honolulu. This is on Hwy 61.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
275 reviews 275 reviews
240 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“fantastic views, hike down impossible in high winds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

the drive on the pali highway is beautiful and the signs guided us to reach the lookout point... do it early in the morning... no crowds and we had the place almost to ourselves... the winds made it difficult to even stand at the edge and we could not even contemplate taking the hike down the cliff as we did not want to follow in the footsteps of king Kamehameha's rivals who had plunged down these very cliffs!!

the friendly moorhens in the parking lot also contributed to photo op along with the excellent views

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hesperia CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nuuanu, Hawaiian rain forest within a 10 mile hike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The trail head is easy to reach, although make sure your valuables are well hidden since I saw the results of a number of broken car windows. The trail is awesome and changes around every turn. HUMID!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
Top Contributor
339 reviews 339 reviews
239 attraction reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
302 helpful votes 302 helpful votes
“Fantastic views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Very much worth the drive to enjoy the awesome views of the valley and honolulu. This spot offers one of the most panoramic views in the area. The deep blue ocean in the distance and the mountainous rainforest behind you makes for some fantastic photos. This senic and historic spot is definitely worth the trip and small parking fee.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nuuanu Valley Rain Forest also viewed

 

Been to Nuuanu Valley Rain Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nuuanu Valley Rain Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Nuuanu Valley Rain Forest to your Saves list