We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best choice of food in Waikiki” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Makai Market

Makai Market
1450 Ala Moana Blvd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96814
808-946-2811
Improve this listing
Ranked #288 of 1,906 restaurants in Honolulu
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Dessert
Nanaimo,BC
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Best choice of food in Waikiki”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I don't think a lot of people make the trip to the Makai Food Court from Waikiki but they should. There are so many food choices you could eat a different type every night for two or three weeks.
They have everything from Greek to Chinese; Indian to Italian. We eat there at least 4 or 5 times during our vacation and we are never dissappointed. Since the food court is in the Ala Moana Shopping Centre it is a perfect place to shop and then grab a bite before heading back to the hotel.
You can eat very well for about $10 a meal and their portions are huge. Make the effort and walk or catch the bus down to the mall and you won't regret it.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    11
    7
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Foods from around the world!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

This is an extraordinary food court. Unlike your typical mainland shopping center food court, the Makai Market offers: Japanese, Chinese, American, Thai, Korean, Hawaiian, Italian and even a steak! The best way to experience this place is to take a stroll around first and check out all the restaurants before you make a decision on your meal choice. Price range from $6-12 for an average meal so it is a cheap place to eat if you are on a budget. It can get noisy and crowded during the lunch rush!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauai, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Many delicious and quality choices in this food court”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

I love meat and on this trip, I discovered Charley's Grilled subs and Blazing Steaks. I loved Charley's the best and had the same thing 2 nights in a row, their Philly cheesesteak deluxe with provolone, grilled mushrooms, onions, and peppers. It was perfectly seasoned both times and the bread and fries were teriffic!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Many good food under one roof”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

Makai Market is like the food court in Ala Moana Shopping Center. It serves a huge array of dishes. It will satisfy any man's craving. There is chinese, japanese, american, korean, Italian etc etc foods. It's just few steps away from one another.

My favorite food stall in Makai Market is Yummy, which serves good Korean BBQ! Since I dont live in Honolulu anymore, I tend to day dream of eating Yummy!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldport
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Best food court anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

We eat here almost every day when we are on our annual visit to our family on Oahu. There is something for everyone, the food is great and the prices very reasonable. It's like "Food Heaven!!". We always tell our friends when we get back to the Mainland that there is no better choice for us!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makai Market also viewed

 

Been to Makai Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makai Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.