We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near the water and very good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of House Without a Key

House Without a Key
2199 Kalia Rd., Halekulani Hotel, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)
808-923-2311
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 1,946 Restaurants in Honolulu
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Asian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Honolulu
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Near the water and very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This relatively small spot at one of the top Hotels in Hawaii (the Halekulani) is a great deal for Waikiki.
It is adjacent to the beach, has a nice view of ocean, beaches and hotel and comfortable outdoor seating open to the sun or in shade.
The food is relatively simple, but extremely well prepared.
Prices are just a touch above average; I consider it a very good deal for Wiakiki.
The breakfast buffet has a very wide range of choices, including made-to-order omelettes with lots of choices of fillings. There's lots of fruit and pastries.Very good coffee.
It's first come-first serve (no reservations)
There is a good variety for lunch and dinner.
It's also a good place to have a cocktail while watching/listening to a really authentic Hawaiian musical group before dinner.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    568
    278
    79
    33
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Casual and Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

My wife and I love coming to House without the keys! They have a fairly simple menu with delicious food items that go well with cocktail or just by themselves. We love their burgers and the famous Halekulani coconut cake for dessert. The service is always friendly, the staff diligent, and the beach front ambience very peaceful and relaxing. We love the Hawaiian music (mellow, beautiful, not loud) and the beautiful hula. It is a great place to go for a Classic mellow Waikiki night out with local friends or visitors. Always enjoyable there!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Escape Waikiki When Your in Waikiki”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

House Without a Key is probably one of the best kept secrets in Hawaii. When you walk through Halekulani Hotel, the sights and sounds of Waikiki disappear. House Without a key has one of the best unobstructed views of Diamond Head. All you hear is the sea breezes through the palm trees and the music from the band (if you happen to be here in the evening). The drinks and food are a little expensive but the worth the view! If you are hungry try the hamburgers! They are to die for! Ridiculously tasty! If you are in the mood for a cocktail try their version of a Mai Tai.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yummy ice tea. Great atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

House without a key was a great experience. They have a large variety of food for their breakfast buffet. It's a little pricey but worth the money. It's located at a beautiful hotel. You can see the ocean from your table. They serve courtesy water and coffee outside while you're waiting on days they are on the busy side. Be sure to order the iced tea. They have fresh sugar cane to stir your tea with. It's yummy We went for our a family birthday. It was our grandmas 70th birthday. The hotel has a lot of history and the service was great.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Disappointing New Menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

As Honolulu residents this used to be one of our favorite places to eat but we are very disappointed with the new menu. We have enough burger places! Do we really need a burger on the menu of this beautiful place? Recently we took visiting friends for cocktails to enjoy the music and ordered the pupu platter to share. It was grossly overpriced and not suitable for sharing (how does one share one BBQ rib???). We will only come back for drinks and the beautiful atmosphere with music and dance.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House Without a Key also viewed

 

Been to House Without a Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House Without a Key, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.