We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great brunch!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of House Without a Key

House Without a Key
2199 Kalia Rd., Halekulani Hotel, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)
808-923-2311
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 1,940 Restaurants in Honolulu
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Asian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Cincinnati, OH
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Great brunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

The House Without a Key serves a great weekend brunch in gorgeous surroundings. A good taste of Aloha!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    568
    277
    79
    33
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Easy and relaxing dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We ate here twice during our 9 day stay in Waikiki. The restaurant is located in the upscale Halekulani hotel and has open air seating as well as covered seating with great sunset views if you are able to get one of the very few tables closest to the water. We stayed at the Outrigger next door and decided to pop in for a "casual" dinner because we couldn't get into Orchids. Our dinner was reasonably priced for expensive Waikiki and we had quite a nice evening thanks to the weather and the live Hawaiian musicians playing in the background complete with a few tasteful dancers. The service was great and the food was definitely above average. I highly recommend the cheeseburger if you are willing to get past the $22 price tag - I did and it was fantastic. On our second occasion I had the chicken curry and it was also a very tasty dish and filling. Average dinner entrees run about $25.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice location. Stupid prices!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Really lovely. Service excellent. But $128 for 4 people who had appetizers and iced tea? Gimme a break!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful view at sunset”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Lovely, relaxing restaurant with a view like no other. Great staff and good food. Comfortable environment. The grounds surrounding the restaurant and hotel are beautiful. Highly recommend.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Relaxing drinks show and pupu's.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

A must when in Honolulu. We went to relax with drinks & pupu's. We stayed for dinner.

The show was most enjoyable featuring a family band, local music and the occasional hula by Miss Hawaii. Reasonably priced this was great bang for your buck.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House Without a Key also viewed

 

Been to House Without a Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House Without a Key, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.