We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Transported Away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House Without a Key

House Without a Key
2199 Kalia Rd., Halekulani Hotel, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)
808-923-2311
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 1,946 Restaurants in Honolulu
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Asian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Burnaby, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Transported Away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Best mai tais, great food, friendly service, a graceful Miss Hawaii accompanied by a very tight band playing lulling Hawaiian music, and a romantic sunset on Waikiki ~ what more do you want?

Our server was prompt and attentive, and the fresh fish delicious. For an appetizer try Coconut Crusted Shrimp and for desert Halekulani’s Coconut Cake. You will be well rewarded!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    568
    278
    79
    33
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The veggie burger was one of the best I've EVER tasted! Truly good food, great view. Small but excellent wine selection and fairly priced. Service can be a little hit or miss, but they hire very nice people and I like that- not stuffy but polite and kind people.

No reservations so get there early for sunset if you want a great seat.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disaster”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We went to this restaurant to spend some holiday money on a nice meal, bad choice. The waiter was terrible, seemed disinterested, and forgot both our starter and side dish, two of the four dishes we ordered! They then arrived as we were finishing mains and he cleaned away my partner's setting as I was still eating. They offered us a free desert, but then brought it over as we were finishing mains, and we didn't even get to choose the desert!

Food was poor too, the fish special for the day was bland, and the Teriyaki Chicken burger was grey on the inside and stringy, not good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
515 reviews 515 reviews
287 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
“The Best Breakfast Buffet.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Breakfast Buffet here is always wonderful & well worth the price $32. The array of choices is vast with hot & cold + the chef who cooks omelettes on request.
Nicely laid out & easy to manoeuvre makes dining here a pleasure.

In my experience service is attentive ensuring needs are met such as more fresh juice, more coffee.

A beautiful view of the beach & water adds to the atmosphere.

This is always a breakfast stop every visit to Waikiki.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
“Good food Expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The food is good. The service was a little slow. The menus is ala carte My husband was a little surprised when he ordered pancakes and 2 eggs that he ordered 2 main dishes. Their wise nice restaurant with nive views

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House Without a Key also viewed

 

Been to House Without a Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House Without a Key, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.