We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good grilled food and beautiful view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of House Without a Key

House Without a Key
2199 Kalia Rd., Halekulani Hotel, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)
808-923-2311
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 1,946 Restaurants in Honolulu
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Asian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good grilled food and beautiful view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We happened to be here on a thursday and the nice surprise was that it was the great grilling bbq night! Excellent service and great view over waikiki beach.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    568
    278
    79
    33
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Romantic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Went here for drinks and entertainment. Had some appies too. Enjoyed the ambiance and hula show/music. Food just ok. Lots better places to eat so go for drinks then have a later dinner somewhere else

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Didn't stay at Halekulani (although the hotel itself looks magnificent), my boyfriend and I did eat at their restaurant as we did hear good reviews. And they definitely lived up to the hype! I ordered the fresh catch of the day fish, while my boyfriend ordered the pasta. Not going to lie, the pasta was pretty ordinary... still good, but pretty standard. My fish on the other hand was AMAZING! I'm not the best food reviewer... All I could really say about this place is that the food is super delicious. I highly recommend getting their fresh catch of the day fish if you eat here. Maybe stay away from the pasta as they do have so much better food selections. The drinks at this place were SO good as well. Try their pineapple strawberry margarita (I believe that's what it was?).

While you dine, they also have live Hawaiian music while a former Miss Hawaii hula dances. This happening, while a beautiful hazy pink/orange sunset emerging in the background was just the perfect way to dine. A very nice romantic setting, House Without a Key will not let you down :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willowick, Ohio
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We went here to have a drink and here the music. As soon as we walked in we knew we wanted to have dinner here. Our waiter, Guy, was amazing and the food was even better. We loved the music while watching the sunset. We would highly recommend eating here and if you can I would stay at this hotel.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Great Venue & Performances”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

HWAK is a wonderful way to end an afternoon in Waikiki. It is a pool patio, with a broad drink menu. There are also pu`pus, but the draw is the live performances on the pool stage, near sunset.

The wine list is a bit limited, but serviceable.

Lovely setting in a grand hotel - the Halekulani

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House Without a Key also viewed

 

Been to House Without a Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House Without a Key, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.