We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite home away from home, in the heart of Waikiki” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hokulani Waikiki By Hilton Grand Vacations

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hokulani Waikiki By Hilton Grand Vacations to your Saves list
Hokulani Waikiki By Hilton Grand Vacations
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2181 Kalakaua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #15 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Tempe, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“My favorite home away from home, in the heart of Waikiki”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Hokulani Waikiki is an incredible new hotel from Hilton Grand Vacations. It's located in the Waikiki Beach Walk, at the corner of Kalakaua & Lewers. This is right in the heart of Waikiki, convenient to many great shops, restaurants, and only a short walk to the beach. Some don't like Waikiki but for me, it is the perfect mix of big city amenities along with a nice beach and being an easy drive away from some idyllic beaches.

The rooms at Hokulani are all beautiful suites with vast living space with a small galley kitchen, a private bedroom area, and a large bathroom with rainfall shower and a gorgeous bathtub that fills from the ceiling. There is a TV integrated into the mirror, so you can watch while getting ready at the sink or while soaking in the tub.

All of the furnishings are of high quality. There is a luxurious feel to the entire property without the intrusive service you find at Halekulani for instance. I found the employees to be very friendly and helpful. They were there for me when I needed them but were discreet when not. Housekeeping was great-- my suite was kept very clean.

Parking is valet only. Wait times aren't terrible and the valets are mostly quite good. The fee is a bit steep at $35 but you are in the heart of busy Waikiki. The valet area is a bit hard to find initially-- look for the umbrella on the Lewers side of the hotel.

The lobby is on the second floor and is gorgeous. Great water and fire features along with nice seating. The business center is a nice, complimentary self-serve area just off the lobby. The rooftop pooldeck is gorgeous, with beautiful views of Waikiki, the ocean, Diamondhead, mountains, etc. There is a pool bar and friendly staff. Unfortunately, the pool itself is just a little soaking pool. There is also a small jacuzzi available.

Hokulani is my new favorite Waikiki hotel. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    36
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
51
38
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

The hotel is very luxurious and has very nice amenities but it is somewhat small in size. Besides that the hotel staff is very friendly and accomodating. The only REAL complaint I have is their valet services. Not only do you HAVE TO valet, they charge $35.00 per day to park your car there only to have their attendants take our cars for joy rides. I haven't caught anyone joy riding my car but I overheard the managers at Hokulani speak of a Elite Staff member taking our cars out for joy rides!!! It looks as though it isn't Hilton's employees hired to manage our cars but a vendor company named ELITE PARKING SERVICES which I didn't find very comforting.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Hokulani Waikiki By Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
We are sorry that you were not able to fully enjoy your stay at the Hokulani Waikiki. Thank you for your feedback. I’d like to discuss the incident you’ve described in more detail, please contact me at wbethel@hgvc.com

Will Bethel
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

From the minute the shuttle dropped us off, this hotel blew every expectation I had out of the water. The entrance to the lobby is on the second floor of the Waikiki Beach Walk shopping area. When you walk through the doors you automatically feel like you've entered a world of exclusivity. There is a seating area to the right of the lobby that is wonderful, especially at night when the fire bowls are lit and the water sparkles. During the day, this is a fantastic place to sit with your morning Starbucks (right across the street) and enjoy the morning sun. I was told that the lobby bar serves alcohol during the day, but they close at 6 or 7. According to the pool bartender this is because they don't have enough bar staff to sustain additional hours, but it was something that probably wouldn't last much longer. Hopefully he is correct, because they are wasting a great opportunity to make money by serving drinks in this area after dark.

All of the rooms at this resort feature one bedroom and are meticulously decorated with a mix of modern contemporary, Asian and Hawaiian. Floors are a beautiful dark hardwood, as are the cabinets, some of the furniture and the bed. The kitchen is amazing. Whomever designed the layout deserves some kind of recognition because they managed to provide every convenience in such a small space. The stove has two burners, the refrigerator is big enough to keep drinks and a few small items cold. Place settings for four are tucked away in a cabinet that is tucked into the wall. There is also a microwave, coffee maker and in-room ice machine. There are also four beach towels tucked away in the closet. If I had to pick something to gripe about it would be that there is only one luggage stand. I would expect in a unit that technically sleeps four, that there would be two. I'm sure if you called and asked for an extra they would bring it without a problem. Also, the safe is located in the bottom right drawer of the bedroom dresser.

The bathroom is probably my favorite feature of this place. For starters there is a television integrated into the mirror. So cool. The only other place I have experienced this was at the Venetian in Las Vegas. Be sure to check out the bathtub. The water COMES OUT OF THE CEILING. I didn't take a bath but had a blast watching the tub fill up.

Each unit also comes with a Romeo & Juliet lanai. This means there is little room to sit, let alone stand. You are also located about a block from the beach so unless you are on one of the highest floors and facing the ocean, you won't have an ocean view. Odds are your view will be of the city and/or the mountains.

The pool is also not to be missed, especially if you are a couple traveling without kids, and like us, aren't particularly fond of them. Lounge chairs are super soft and comfortable. Each come with a set of throw pillows. The pool attendant will give you as many towels as you want, let you pick your spot, and set up an umbrella for you. It is a nice service they provide so tips are appreciated. I didn't realize there would be a pool attendant so I didn't bring cash. Had to go back down to the room to grab a few bucks. The pool is small. Like really small. It's basically a plunge pool, hence my comment about being great for couples who don't like kids screaming and splashing in the water. It isn't kid friendly at all so anyone traveling with kids will likely hit the beach instead. That isn't to say there won't be kids there. We had a few, but they were too small to be obnoxious.

The bar serves great drinks and features happy hour starting at 2. Prices aren't cheap, even at happy hour, but you can room charge, which is very convenient. They are lacking food service though. Again, not sure if this is because they are still new and understaffed. I didn't ask. I did ask about hours, and the pool bar, like the lobby bar, closes at 6. Also a shame because the view from up there is fantastic at night with the lights of Waikiki. There are cabanas for rent, each equipped with a television. Was curious about the going rate and was told it was $200 per day. That's a bit expensive. I think others felt the same way because no one rented a cabana during our entire stay.

Like all Waikiki hotels (HHV included) you are going to have to pay for parking. The rate at the Hokulani is $35 per day, valet only. The elevators are also a bit tricky and will take some getting used to. In the lobby you flash your room key in front of the sensor then enter the floor number you want. The display will then tell you which elevator to get into. If you are waiting with a group of people make sure you don't just hop on the next elevator that comes by because it won't stop on your floor unless you put the request into the display. You don't need to flash your key to move between floors (i.e. to get to the pool or lobby from your room) but you will need to enter your floor request into the keypad. It might seem like a pain at first, but it is kind of cool, and once you get the hang of it, you'll think nothing of it.

Overall this is a perfect choice for Waikiki. I will most certainly be back. We are HGVC owners so I am optimistic that it will be easy for us to return. If you are also an owner and are debating between here and the HHV, you need to keep in mind a couple of things. First, this resort is not on the beach and you won't likely have an ocean view. That said, you are in the heart of Waikiki. Restaurants, shopping, people watching are literally at your doorstep. The beach is a short one block walk away. The HHV is on the beach, however you are far removed from the center of Waikiki. It is a good 10-15 minute walk, which isn't terrible, but if you are looking to be near the center of all the action (and Waikiki is about action), then I would give the Hokulani serious consideration.

Room Tip: The higher up you are the better your view. If you are not an owner, chances are you will probably b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Lovely accommodations, though you need to be aware of check-in times. The island is lovely, drive everywhere you can. The gym needs to have a fan, but otherwise it's better than average. Do your hop around the island plans before you get there; concierge didn't have much to offer. Try the cruise around the islands, it's the one thing we missed. But Oahu has plenty to do in and of itself. Climbed Diamond Head (it's long!), went to beach and to a botanical park in the north where several movies were filmed. Gorgeous!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

This was my first time in Hawaii and I really liked this hotel. The suite was huge and the technology in the rooms was great. There was a TV built into the mirror of the bathroom. The roof top pool is very nice and not busy at all. I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlewellan, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

This is a new resort..essentially timeshare, but part of the Hilton Family. It has all the most recent 'bells and whistles' and super eco-friendly. The staff are so, so helpful and the resort itself is right in the middle of Waikiki. There is a neat snack bar on the Lobby level and a super skyline lounge on the roof with the ultimate views over Honolulu. 'On a clear day...you can see forever'.
I defy anyone to say they would not like this place. Why only 4 stars, then. Two small 'caveats'...
There is no swimming pool. The rooftop has a plunge pool, which everone seemed to enjoy. Help you cool off in the sun. The resort, though, is only a block from the beach, so avid swimmers are not too adversly affected. The last point concerns parking. There is only valet and it is expensive ($35 per day!!!) This however, is in common with all cities and the Waikiki hotels so we can't shout too much. Like me, though, you might do without a car and use the money for all the nearby shops and restaurants....Believe me, you will enjoy here.

Room Tip: The rooms are all great. You might get a better view on the 'Diamond Head' side of the resor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Pros: great location if looking to stay in Waikiki, central to shops, restaurants and everything Waikiki has to offer; all suites; brand new; awesome large bathroom with vanity, dual sinks, high tech toilet, rain shower, tub that has water coming down from the ceiling (a little odd, but get they are trying to be different and high tech); secure access to your floor with key card; free laundry machines on each floor; clean and spacious suites with fully stocked kitchenettes; nice views; nice friendly staff and valet; great for families and small children; quiet and couldn't hear other rooms through the walls which is always a plus

Cons: small pool, but we never used it so it didn't affect our stay; can hear street traffic at all hours, but wasn't so bad it was a deal breaker- you are, after all in central bustling Waikiki; no room service or restaurant- but they have a kitchenette in every suite; not the largest suite but great use of space and floor plan; check out time is 10 am; no frills hotel but it's new with luxurious bathroom; valet parking is steep for this type of hotel in my opinion but there isn't any other choice ($35 per day); not much of a balcony if you're into that

Overall, we had a great stay and would stay again and recommend to others. It's a new hotel so it was a lot quieter than Sheraton or other nearby hotels which we preferred. Our toddler enjoyed her stay and was very comfortable. Great location close to everything in Waikiki. We've stayed at the Sheraton, Royal Hawaiian, Hyatt and for the price, prefer this hotel. Especially if you like privacy and quiet.

Tips: grab breakfast at Island Vintage Coffee in the am- great coffee, smoothies, breakfast plates and acai bowls! Also those with little kids, there is a little water spray area outside hotel near the Beach Walk :)

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hokulani Waikiki By Hilton Grand Vacations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hokulani Waikiki By Hilton Grand Vacations

Address: 2181 Kalakaua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hokulani Waikiki By Hilton Grand Vacations 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ease into an unforgettable Hawaii vacation at Hokulani Waikiki by Hilton Grand Vacations Club. This all-suite hotel boasts a fabulous location, just steps from the famous Waikiki Beach, in the heart of Waikiki's shopping and entertainment area.Enjoy the freedom to live at your own pace in one of the 143 spacious one-bedroom suites at Hokulani Waikiki by Hilton Grand Vacations Club. Prepare meals in the fully-equipped kitchen and relax in your living and dining space, or look out on the city from your Juliet-style lanais. Lounge in the Hawaii sunshine, cool off with a refreshing dip in the rooftop plunge pool, or re-energize with a workout at the modern fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hokulani Waikiki By Hilton Grand Vacations reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hokulani Waikiki By Hilton Grand Vacations Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hokulani Waikiki By Hilton Grand Vacations, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.