We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“casual diner, great prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wailana Coffee House

Wailana Coffee House
1860 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)
(808) 955-1764
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #212 of 1,912 restaurants in Honolulu
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“casual diner, great prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Ate at the Wailana Coffee House several times while staying at the Hilton Hawaiian Village, which is a short walk away. Wailana is open 24 hours for a casual, not too expensive meal. If you come at the peak times, there is a line out the door. They have a small salad bar, which was decent. A good place for a quick casual meal if you want to stick to your vacation budget.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    249
    281
    129
    46
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
HAWAII
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“NOT FINE DINING BUT A GREAT COFFEE SHOP”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Typical coffee shop fare. Food is very good. Service for such a high volume facility is excellent. Prices very competitive for Waikiki. CLEAN. Breakfast is 24 hours.....a personal favorite for me. Try a Loco Moco....yummy. The customer base consists of 50-50 locals and visitors. There is a salad bar, but I stay away from that. Like all salad bars, people sneeze on them. I won't take off any stars for that because it's not a Wailana issue, it's just a salad bar fact. If you are sick and tired of spending 50-75 dollars for breakfast at the Hawaiian Village across the street, eat here. Also the bar atmosphere is really retro cool.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Reasonable 24 Hr Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We ate breakfast here several times. Good food, great value, friendly & prompt service. We also ate dinner there once...just a sandwich, but it was also very good. Across the street from the Hilton Hawaiian Village. Very busy each time we visited, but they seemed to be able to handle the crowd very well.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great service & food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Huge variety of staple American dishes - top quality -low price. Very friendly service - cleanliness outstanding.
Open 24hrs!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Average food & service.. nothing special.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Out of the 3 times I have been to Oahu I have only ever eaten here 3 times and only because it was open 24 hours and travelling from the U.K. to Oahu I just wanted somewhere quick to eat before sleeping and this place was right next to the Hilton Hawaiian where I was staying.
Inside is like a classic, american diner. I'm thinking it may have been there well before Oahu started getting much more built up.
For breakfast this place is perfect as it has your usual breakfast menu but since I'm not a breakfast person I didn't bother to eat there.
All 3 times I went there for a dinner and the menu never really excited me but it was ok just for something quick after a long flight.
The food tasted fine, cooked properly and everything was clean, it was just very basic.
When you have done eating, you go up to a till at the end of the bar area which singles can eat from and queue to pay just like in a shop which I thought was quite funny but all added to the experience.
Overall, good if you need something quick after a long flight or for breakfast.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wailana Coffee House also viewed

 

Been to Wailana Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wailana Coffee House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.