We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mmm Good Fish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Me B-B-Q

Me B-B-Q
151 Uluniu Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3257 (Formerly Me's Bar-B-Que) (Waikiki)
808-926-9717
Improve this listing
Ranked #72 of 1,792 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Barbecue, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Takeout
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Iowa, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Mmm Good Fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I have been going to Me B-B-Q for years. This is the best place to get great food and a large helping to take home after you eat your meal…. REALLY! Their fried fish is the most tender fillets that will remind you of eating Crappie, Bluegill or Goat fish if you happen to be from that part of the world. I've eaten them all and Me's prepares them to a delicate taste. EXCEPTIONAL... good job Me's and thank you for feeding me all these years. Remember… are you coming to eat on Sunday? DON'T … WE'RE NOT OPEN!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    169
    31
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good Korean foods”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stopped at this little Korean place almost everyday while we're in Honolulu. They open from 7:00am to about 9:00pm serving breakfast all the way to dinner daily. We always saw people waiting inline to order and to pick up their food. The owner prepared food himself and made fresh to your order. A small inconvenience is that they accepted only cash.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Bargain at a true hole-in-the-wall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Dis hole in da wall, is really a "hole in a wall". Me's is located in the side of the Pacific Grove Hotel on Uluniu near Kuhio in Waikiki. If you are walking on the wrong side of the street, this place is easy to miss. However, Me's has food as good as fancier Korean places, that is easy on your kala (dollar).

The menu is expansive w/ standards like kalbi, bi bim bap, and man doo kooksoo. However, Me's also offers eggs w/ spam, portuguese sausage or corned beef hash. My friend and I ordered #36: Kalbi & chicken katsu ($12) and BBQ chicken side order ($8 - no rice or side dishes).

The kalbi was void of any fat you find at a lot of places. The katsu was not overcooked and the katsu sauce is so special people ask for extra, and Me's charges 25 cents. Full plates come w/ four sides and my friend chose cucumber, bean sprouts, mac salad and broccoli. All of the veggies were fresh and crunchy: 4 Stars. The BBQ chicken was nicely marinated, moist and tender. The portion was very large and I was stuffed afterwards.

The service was quick and efficient. The ambiance is a few tables outside. The only downsides are cash only and it is closed on Sunday: 4 Stars.

Me's is a hidden gem just a couple blocks up from the ultra-touristy Kalakaua Ave. However, locals will line up around the corner to enjoy some hearty K food.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Coast Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Korean Bar B Que”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Huge serving of Korean bar B que chicken. Modestly priced under $10. Right next door to Royal Grove Hotel, this is the best Korean food I've ever tasted! Includes 3 side dishes.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pohang, South Korea
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What a food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Very good price and very good Korean food.
People working there seemed so tired, though.
This restaurant provides only 'to go'.
I found a very long line of people waiting for their turn to order a food.
This place is very close to the Waikiki resort hotel, the popular hotel among Koreans.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Me B-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Me B-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Me B-B-Q, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.