We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hawaiian Food in Honolulu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Helena's Hawaiian Food

Helena's Hawaiian Food
1240 N School St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96817
(808) 845-8044
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 1,906 restaurants in Honolulu
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best Hawaiian Food in Honolulu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I love Helena's. The short ribs, fried ahi, kalua pig, ahi poke, laulau, everything is so good and authentic. If you don't like the food here, just stay in Waikiki and have a cheeseburger! The neighborhood is definitely not charming, its working class Kalihi. The parking is tight and you should call ahead to make sure they're open. It's worth waiting outside for a table and yes its a dive but you go here for the food, not for the atmosphere. There is usually only one waitress with a lot of table but she's very nice so just be patient and she'll get you. Once you order, the food comes out fast. No alcohol is served but its BYOB so bring some beer or wine if you like.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    150
    36
    20
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic food off beaten path”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

If you aren't afraid to venture off the heavily tourist raps of Waikiki beach, and you want to taste some Hawaiian food that even the locals will eat, this is your spot. It's not the easiest place to get to, but we were able to catch a number 23 (yeah we are adventurous!) from the Waikiki beach area. The place isn't much to look at - simple store front with no decor. Just some pictures on the walls. But it totally makes up for this with the tasty food! Bring your cash, they don't take credit. You might have to wait for a plain plastic table, but get ready to get your eat on! My husband LOVED the pork and cabbage. I loved the short ribs. We also enjoyed the ahi. This place is highly recommended by almost all the travel books, that why we came, and we agree!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Well worth the hype”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Heard about this place and always wanted to try it. Well worth the hype. Came for the ribs and damn.....they were soo good. The kalua pig was also great. Very juicy. The lady at the cash register was extremely nice and so was the male owner. Cash only. Got there around 11:30 am and the place was full, with about 10 people waiting outside for a table. Got my order to go. Wish I would have gotten more food. It was THAT good. Best food ivehad here so far.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Bright, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best food in hawaii!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Its not the easiest place to find but if you are looking for a local spot that serves authentic hawaiian dishes this is the place. The staff was very friendly but the place was kinda small so you might have to wait. But its well worth the wait, there wasnt anything we tried that we didnt like. The pork was amazing. We actually went back and bought a pound of it because it was that good.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gentry, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I saw a show about Helena's on Man vs Food so I wanted to try it. Everything was great except the poi. The ribs are really, really good.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Helena's Hawaiian Food also viewed

 

Been to Helena's Hawaiian Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helena's Hawaiian Food, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.