We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go to see the fish feeding” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oceanarium Restaurant

Oceanarium Restaurant
2490 Kalakaua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3240 (Waikiki)
808-922-1233
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Oceanarium Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #507 of 1,987 Restaurants in Honolulu
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Buffet, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Cross street: Liliuokalani Avenue
Description: Where dining is an adventure.At Pacific Beach Hotel's Ilima award-winning Oceanarium Restaurant, the flavors are as amazing as the views. Indulge in mouth-watering crab legs, tender prime rib of beef, fresh Island sashimi and sushi. Plus a nightly pasta and dessert station complemented with nightly specials – all alongside incredible views of nearly 400 fish from more than 70 different species of marine life. Nowhere else on the island will you find a dining experience quite like this.
Vermilion
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Go to see the fish feeding”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I read that you should go at times when the fish get fed, and I agree. Went for the 5 pm. The three stories of aquarium are stunning. The variety of fish is interesting. The mermaid was a little cheesy. The buffet was expensive at $45, so not for the budget conscious.. If you love crab, it's probably worth the price tag. Salads were a little unimaginative. Fresh fruit was great. Nice assortment of desserts. However, most things looked better than they tasted. Service was very good. Would recommend going for lunch instead of dinner (check for availability). Booked through Open Table. Would highly recommend the service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    121
    97
    31
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“When words fail you”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We usually visit this Buffet most times we visit Honolulu, last time 2010, how this place has deteriorated since then. Food is very very average and the service was way below par. Night was somewhat saved by the diving show put on in the huge Aquarium. But if your counting on a pleasant dining experience and enthusiastic wait staff, this is not the place to go. We could hardly wait to leave.




  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Ok food, great Oceanarium”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The floor to ceiling, wall to wall fish tank provides a wonderful focal point for the restaurant and is the main attraction especially if you have children. The buffet, whilst extensive, and on initial viewing looks fabulous, is a little disappointing in taste and quality. There are other buffets, also offering crab legs, that provide a much better dining experience, even though, they do not have the oceanarium.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathedral City, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Crab Legs Made it Worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Overall, the food quality could have been better, but you don't really go to an oceanarium for the food. That being said, the crab legs were AMAZING. I couldn't get enough! They made up for all the other so-so food. It was also fun to watch the fish swim around, and the diver/mermaid was a nice touch.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Birthday Surprise”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

special birthday surprise for my grandson, service was good but the buffet was extremely dissappointing, this was the worse food I have had in America, after leaving the restaurant I went to a local market and got a sandwich , this was much better than the expensive buffet at the oceanarium
I can not believe that this restaurant has any good reviews on its food , it was extremely expensive and so dissappointing that we made this a special surprise for our grandson as he is 11 and also found the food dissappointing,

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oceanarium Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Oceanarium Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceanarium Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.