We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Their Pork Hash (Siu Mai) is THE Best!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Kitchen

Royal Kitchen
100 N Beretania St Ste 175, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96817-4708 (Downtown Honolulu)
(808) 524-4461
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 1,939 Restaurants in Honolulu
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Neighborhood: Downtown Honolulu
Kirkland, WA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Their Pork Hash (Siu Mai) is THE Best!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Just returned to Honolulu for a family reunion and had to pick up 3 dozen pork hash dumplings (siu mai) to share with the relatives coming in from the Mainland for the ruenion... these are the best around!!!! I took them to the family and they disappeared in a flash!

Royal Kitchen's char siu (BBQ pork) baked bao is also outstanding. When I head home to the state of Washington, I always take pork hash, char siu and Chinese roast pork from Royal Garden home with me. I freeze them, then pack them in an insulated bag that I buy from Long's Drug (they have great Hawaiian print designs on them), add some frozen "blue ice" and stuff the bag in my suit case. It weighs a ton, but it is SO worth it!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    13
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Manapua happiness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My visit to downtown Honolulu/Chinatown was for the sole purpose of trying these pastries. The bus ride from Waikiki was about a 30 minutes trip. The Portugese sausage and cha siu were standouts! For $1.30 for each bun it was great value.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“THE Best Baked Manapua!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

loved this place...super fast service and the baked Manapua (baked yeast roll stuffed with meat or sweet filling) is AMAZING...my favorite was the Portuguese Sausage and the Kailua Pork Manapua. they are $1.30 each. also, the pork hash half moon was fantastic...like a steamed dumpling with the pork hash inside. this is a local favorite! no seating--we stood around and ate our food. hours are 5:30 am - 4:30 pm.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Excellent Manapua”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Delicious manapua - baked, not steamed. Excellent variety (Char siu, chicken, curry chicken, lup chong, Portuguese sausage, kalua pig, veggie, sweet potato). My favorite was Portuguese sausage. True local spot - stop here if you're in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CO
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent hole in the wall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We got lost looking for this place, but we were glad to have found it....just had to ask locals where the place was. There was only one table to eat at, so they expect that you are taking the food somewhere else. We ordered a lot of the mauna pua flavors: coconut, curry, pork, sweet potato, and the lady wanted us to try some other flavors, so she threw some free ones in. We also ordered lunch there, but I'd have to say the mauna puas are the reason for the restaurant!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Royal Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.