We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roy's with a view..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roy's Hawaii Kai

Roy's Hawaii Kai
6600 Kalanianaole Hwy, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96825
808-396-9875
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #134 of 1,945 Restaurants in Honolulu
Price range: $35 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
317 reviews 317 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
“Roy's with a view..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

So nice to get a little break from super buzzy Waikiki and enjoy the unspoiled view from the home of Island Fusion- Roy's. Food is very good, service is excellent and everyone seemed to be celebrating a Birthday. All the fish is super delicious- simple but tasty Hibachi Salmon, Butterfish, Opah, Salads and Dessert. Yum yum.. and I love their addictive spiced Edamame! The only dish that I wasn't wild about was the Abalone Casino and that was because the bacon was a bit overwhelming aboard the rich meat-and I personally like Clams or Mussels prepped like this best.
Worth the drive or Cab to escape the hustle for an easy breezy Dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    64
    24
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rose Bay, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

What a beautiful restaurant with so many dishes to choose from . It's best however is its steaks , tender , succulent and divine . Leave room for desert because the choc soufflé is a must .

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The original Roys is the best!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is my new favorite restaurant. Yes it is expensive but it is fine dining . The food is always superior at any Roys. Service is always wonderful. But this Roy's has tremendous atmosphere because of a gorgeous view of the ocean and mountains. Went to celebrate A birthday. Can't wait to return for our anniversary.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, ct
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Very different menu. Excellent in every way. Ate outside on the terrace with just very fresh food cooked just the way you order it. I'm pretty fussy when it comes to food, and this place was right on the money. The staff was excellent. Presentation was very good and desserts were also very good. I would definitely return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed Roy's fans”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I love Roy's. we were so excited to dine in the original restaurant. We made a reservation. We were seated at a table that seemed to be in the way. The food was so-so, not what I expected the amount that is paid. The server was hard to find and not attentive. Roy's is usually out of this world, so we left feeling disappointed. Next time on Oahu, we'll stick with Roy's in Waikiki.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roy's Hawaii Kai also viewed

 

Been to Roy's Hawaii Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roy's Hawaii Kai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.