We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best BBQ pork ever” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rainbow Drive-In

Rainbow Drive-In
3308 Kanaina Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-4214 (Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis)
808-737-0177
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #228 of 1,946 Restaurants in Honolulu
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Neighborhood: Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best BBQ pork ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Nice little restaurant with outside sitting, fast service, great food, really the best BBQ pork i have ever had. Worth the walk from waikiki beach.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    189
    72
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Montana
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“If you like Hawaiian plate lunches, you've got to try this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

OK, I know Hawaiian plate lunches are not healthy eating, and not everyone is a fan. But I used to live on Oahu, and during a recent cruise stop, I had to satisfy my appetite for one of these.

My wife's cousin (a local) took us to this place on a late Thursday evening in early February. It was just as I remembered plate lunches from the '80s.

I love the seasonings they use in the meat, and the sticky rice and other stuff is fantastic.

Yes, it is a greasy spoon kind of place, so if you don't like that, stay away. But if you want a taste of local food that the locals love, this is the place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Oregon
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Somewhere over the rainbow ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

is a propaganda machine churning out misinformation and hype about this landmark joint. Generations of visitors have eaten their first plate lunch here and report how "wonderful" it was, Just not true. Mediocre at best. Their are 250 better places on Oahu to get a better plate lunch than this over-hyped place..

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loco Moco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Saw the Dinners Drive-In 7 Dives show about the Rainbow Drive- In and walked over there from my hotel. It is a local place with a constant walk up crowd. The Hawaii favorite is the Loco Moco (sticky rice covered by two burgers with gravy topped with 2 fried eggs) with a mac salad. It is well worth a trip over there. The Loco Moto is different and worth trying.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, HI
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“a greasy spoon sort of place.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

NOT healthy eating. But locals love the place. Salty, fatty, high cholesterol, heavy carbs. Be sure to off set the food here by eating a healthy meal elsewhere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainbow Drive-In also viewed

 

Been to Rainbow Drive-In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainbow Drive-In, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.