We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NACHO-RAMA!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cha Cha Cha Restaurant

Cha Cha Cha Restaurant
342 Seaside Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2527 (Waikiki)
(808) 923-7797
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #197 of 1,906 restaurants in Honolulu
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Caribbean, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“NACHO-RAMA!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Popped in for a late lunch and this was conveniently located adjacent to the Shoreline Hotel. Nacho's with chicken were HUGE and awesome. Just the snack we needed. Great prices for Waikiki.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    67
    70
    26
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“No one needs 1/2 a raw onion in their burito”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The food was ok except for the 1/2 a large raw onion in the burrito which made it very unpleasant. Once removed it tasted fine though it and the rest of the food was nothing special. Perhaps it’s enough to say that we stayed in the hotel above the restaurant and went there on our first night and we never went back during out 2 week stay.
The waitress also suggested that it was appropriate to tip for a take away ("to go") order but the rest of my stay (and talking with locals) indicates that this is not the case. The cost of the tip I left doesn’t bother me, I wasted more on less in my life for sure. It's feeling like you've been told a half-truth (at best) that annoys me in hindsight.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Mexican food for vegetarians!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

If you are a combination of Mexican food lover and a vegetarian, there is no better place to be rather than "Cha Cha Cha 2 Waikiki" for lunch on your Honolulu vacation!

My wife and I stumbled upon this restaurant on our walk to another restaurant (which happened to be closed) and thought we could give it a try and we were EXTREMELY happy and we went back here for lunch the next day. The "pineapple habanero" salsa is out of the world and the waitress/chef were also nice enough to make "veggie enchiladas" for us which were totally divine!

Highly recommend this place for lunch any day!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cha-Cha-....(only because we couldn't fit in a 3rd visit)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

A cosy off the Main Street delight. Very prompt service and a casual relaxed atmosphere. 1st visit started by ordering the "Huge pile of nachos" as an entree. Was going to order mains as well but the service staff said to wait and see, as the serving was quite large (there were 2 of us). We were pretty hungry so had our mains all picked out to go.
Just as well we were warned because we were flat out finishing the entree. Delicious, but watch the bite in the pineapple habanero salsa!
Went back for a 2nd visit a couple of days later better educated. Ordered a smaller entree between us to start and then a main each. Massive servings!
The chicken fajitas came on two large platters and the Tex Mex BBQ burrito was so large in girth that there was no choice but to eat it with a knife and fork, lest risking dislocating the jaw. Both were absolutely mouthwatering and left us with no room for anything else.
It's only that our time on the island is coming to a close that we won't get around to a 3rd round, but for those who like a delicious meal without the pomp, this cannot be recommended highly enough.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food, hole-in-the-wall spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Great service, mango margaritas, chicken and steak enchiladas, and mongchong fish tacos! We would have returned for another meal here if there had been time.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cha Cha Cha Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Cha Cha Cha Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cha Cha Cha Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.