We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of best views in Waikiki” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chuck's Steak House

Chuck's Steak House
2335 Kalakaua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941 (Waikiki)
808-923-1228
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #125 of 1,911 restaurants in Honolulu
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Palm Springs, California
1 review
“One of best views in Waikiki”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great view and value. Service is great and the servers and very friendly and energetic. Food is typical of a steakhouse, salad bar average.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    91
    63
    17
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Chuck's definitely has good food, however, this place is way overpriced. We enjoyed the view and atmosphere, but was a little let down after reading the previous reviews. If you want to get just as good of food for a reasonable price, head downstairs (literally) to Duke's.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Meal with Great Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This steak house is inside the Outrigger Hotel on Waikiki Beach. No reservations but its worth the wait to get the seat and view you want. We ate in there twice on our recent visit each time we arrived about 8.15 spoke to the waitress to ask for a table in the area we wanted while we waited in the bar area. We waited no more than 20 minutes on each occasion to get the seating we wanted. We found as well at this time we were under no pressure to give up our wonderful seat with views over the beach once we had finished the meal.

The steaks were fabulous and a good salad bar regularly refreshed and a good selection of wines that were not overpriced. The staff work very hard to make sure your dining experience is all you want. I really recommend this steak bar

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Still one of our favorites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Just returned from our Oahu trip and again really enjoyed eating at Chuck's Steakhouse. As has been our experiences before, the food is very good, the mai-tai's are excellent and the service is outstanding

Our waitress this time was new to us and named Karen. She was excellent !! Very friendly and attentive and she waited on us both times we went to Chuck's. Could not have asked for better service.

We ate the teriyaki chicken both times and a side of mushrooms which are delicious and a generous serving. We get this on the early bird special and enjoy the happy hour drinks as well. The meal with the mushrooms is enough for my wife and I to split, so it is a very reasonably priced meal for a great dinner experience right on Waikiki Beach.

And, the view is unbeatable in my opinion.

We will be back next fall and expect to eat at Chuck's again, and can't wait.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“So much good stuff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

On our last night in Honolulu we each had a craving for a really good steak. Just a few sandy steps along the beach and, in fact, right next door to our hotel (Westin Moana Surfrider), we found Chuck's Steak House. We didn't have a reservation and expected to wait, so we sat at the bar and chatted with the very knowledgeable bartender. He knew the food well and made several suggestions for us to consider. A short while later we were led to our table on the outside deck, overlooking the beach and other diners in the restaurant below us. The night was warm, the view engaging and our server took good care of us. This place is a bit of a throw back to the 1970's where you go up to a salad bar, fill up and by the time you've speared that last garbonzo bean, your steak is in front of you, complete with baked potato (or fries). Nothing fancy, just really good food, and our steaks were done just the way we like them. (Rare for him, medium well for her) One thing that caught my attention was the view of the palm trees against the dark night sky. It was quite a sultry sight and I will try to add the picture here. So if you're in the mood for a good steak, good service and an appetizing view, visit Chuck's. Hint - if you're staying in a hotel on the beach, entrance from the beach is much easier. We approached from the street and through the shopping centre and got very very lost going up and down various escalators. Ask someone for the best approach especially if you have a reservation. We'll be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chuck's Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Chuck's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chuck's Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.