We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have to do it once” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rainbow Lanai

Rainbow Lanai
2005 Kalia Rd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)
(808) 949-4321
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #517 of 1,946 Restaurants in Honolulu
Price range: $18 - $18
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Buffet
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Long Island
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Have to do it once”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Expensive at $27 per but we did it our first day. The first table they took us to was almost in the kitchen but the hostess had no problem switching us to a beautiful table for 2 outside steps aways from the beach. Now it was perfect!! I'd say you are paying for the location as the food is good standard breakfast buffet...good but not something you'll remember for the rest of your life. Honestly, it was a much better view and about the same quality as the breakfast buffet we had at the Hilton in St Augustine Florida and it was $3 cheaper in Hawaii!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    40
    38
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Obnoxiously Overpriced!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

It's a nice buffet. If it was priced at $18 I'd give it a much better rating. But at $29 it's a horrible waste of money. If money doesn't matter to you then it's a convenient choice for guest at the hotel.

I've had expensive buffets in Vegas that were well worth the money, this one is not. Our breakfast with tip for 4 was $140. Which was only $8 cheaper than the best meal we had on our trip, a very good dinner at Dukes.

Again, the food is ok but I just couldn't get past the price for what we ate. I got much better hash browns across the street at the coffee house for a meal that was less than $10 each.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

It seems the restaurants at this Resort were just blahhhhh. Our dinner was over $100 and it was uneventfull. The fish special was overcooked and flavor-less. Nothing to write home about. We opted to dine off the resort property from then on.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Breakfast buffett....it was kinda just ok.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

My husband and I decided to try this restaurant for breakfast on the last day of our stay. The dining area is very pretty; tall ceilings, open air. Many tables border a small stream that are teeming with koi. Two ducks have made the area their home and will swim by your table giving you a quack as they go by.

The service was very good. The waiter was attentive and very quick to refill ice water and coffee as well as clear plates and provide new sets of silverware.

The buffett itself is not the greatest. There was cereal with milk, a somewhat messy diy waffle station (think batter everywhere and sticky syrup ladels), bagles, breads, fresh fruit, puddings, oatmeals, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, and homefries. In addition to this standard american fare there are also quite a few stranger asian choices which aren't terrible if you happen to feel brave. The food is solidly ok. Not awful, but not great.

The issue I really had was a by-product of what made me really love the place. It was the birds. Because it is open air the birds find their way in and are EVERYWHERE. Some were on the aggressive side and would fly directly into you if you don't move out of the way, others are more docile but will still fly up on your table and walk with their filthy bird feet (and sometimes poop) all over your table and silverware. Make sure you avoid the big white birds and if you happen to have to leave the table for a moment....get new silverware.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Hills
Top Contributor
320 reviews 320 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Good but.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

First off, I received excellent service. Second, the Creamy Corn Chowder was as good as I've ever tasted. Third, and most important, the prime rib of beef was very fatty with hardly any taste. In retrospect, I probably should have asked for another cut, but I didn't. I'd say the ratio was 50-50 fat to edible beef. I was quite disappointed considering the bill was almost 60 bucks.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainbow Lanai also viewed

 

Been to Rainbow Lanai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainbow Lanai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.