We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food that costs alot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rainbow Lanai

Rainbow Lanai
2005 Kalia Rd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)
(808) 949-4321
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #515 of 1,939 Restaurants in Honolulu
Price range: $18 - $18
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Buffet
Neighborhood: Waikiki
sydney
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“good food that costs alot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

they've got guaranteed mouths to feed at the rainbow lanai. as part of the hilton hawaiian village, it's the main spot for breakfast. the setting is nice looking out onto the beach, albeit from a sunken position. there's a nice fish pond running the length of the restaurant and the ever-present pigeon to deal with.

most mornings saw groups of people waiting out the front for a table to free-up for them. the service was friendly and attentive, although they are politely keen to move you on when you're done.

i thought their buffet range was very good and the food i ate was excellent. but at $28/head it's too expensive. of course they've got a captive audience there - people who are happy to pay because they haven't ventured outside of the hhv to see what other options they have.

if only they'd walk out of the drive and across to the wailana coffee house...

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    39
    38
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
K_Turner217
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good food, and a good selection.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Hawaiian Village and ate here, the food was good, and there was a good selection to pick from. Staff was very friendly, even after we showed up 30 minutes before they were done with breakfast. Birds are quite a problem there it seems. Don't leave your food alone! We made that mistake. The waiter went and got us the food on our plates that the birds had eaten. I was impressed by that, he was a great waiter.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The buffet breakfast provided a wide selection of items. From pancakes, fruit, salad, yoghurt, bacon, scrambled or boiled eggs, frittata, pastries, toast. Nice start to the day and we didn't need to eat lunch so the cost balanced out.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Overpriced Hotel Buffet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

While staying at the Hilton I needed breakfast early in the morning and this was the first place I found that was open. First, I found the only option is the buffet, then found it cost $30! They offered a nice spread, including omelets made to order, but there was nothing special about it except the ocean view. Breakfast was pleasant and service was friendly, but I think for the offerings it was overpriced.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Another great feature of the Hilton Hawaiian Village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Excellent breakfast buffet! The pineapple coconut crusted french toast with coconut syrup was the best! Beachfront open air seating available.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainbow Lanai also viewed

 

Been to Rainbow Lanai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainbow Lanai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.