We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rainbow Lanai” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rainbow Lanai

Rainbow Lanai
2005 Kalia Rd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)
(808) 949-4321
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #496 of 1,906 restaurants in Honolulu
Price range: $18 - $18
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Buffet
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Visalia, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Rainbow Lanai”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Village in Waikiki during the month of Feb 2013. The resort was amazing and the staff was great I would highly recommend the resort to everyone. The problem was the breakfast buffet at the Rainbow Lanai located at the resort. The buffet basically had the usual breakfast fare; scrambled eggs, pastries, omelette station, sausage and bacon, nothing special. The scrambled eggs were cold and the rest of the food was bland. Then we were given the ticket $58 for 2 people. Really??? There are other places very close by that offer better food at a cheaper price.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

50% Recommend
    27
    32
    30
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Unmemorable buffet breakfast...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Hoping for platters of fresh pineapple and mango, we headed here for breakfast on our first day... only to find nearly 90 people waiting in front of us!! We tried again the following day and they let us in 10 minutes before the buffet was closing. Basic cereals, breads and pastries, some Japanese breakfast items, juices, mixed greens w/cukes and cherry tomatoes, an omelet bar (I didn't try, but looked fine). Unless you're rolling in dough or want unlimited food you can find a better option elsewhere...

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Way too high for breakfast!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We thought it would be nice to eat breakfast here because it is located in Rainbow Tower and right on the beach with dining available outdoors. When we stepped inside & sat down, the waiter arrived asking what we wanted to drink. We asked the price of the buffet, which we did not see posted anywhere, and he said it was $28 per person. We took one look at the small area of the buffet and left immediately. We live in Vegas, and there was no way we were going to pay that amount of money for breakfast!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Yawn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Same old thing - every day's the same and I'm just waiting for my shift to be over so I can go on to my second job. That's the feeling I get from many of the staff. - that union attitude. There are exceptions with some delightful staff who truly make you feel they are glad you are there. This delightful, open room hosts a buffet, or two buffets if you like. You can have the full buffet including hot foods,Meg's, breakfast meats, some Japanese dishes and fruits, pastries, juices, cereals, etc. the continental is $20.50 per person. I believe the full buffet is $25. It's a nice selection of. Food but a bit much for breakfast. You can also go up to the front of the hotel to Starbucks and have a coffee and bowl of oatmeal (with choice of dried fruits, brown sugar or nuts) for only $7. Just need to reenergize the staff and make them realize they are a big part of the Hawaii experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“New Years Eve DInner Buffet - BAD!!!!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Went to the $59 per person New Year’s Eve Buffet – It is hard to describe how bad it was……My wife and I seriously considered a ‘Dine and Dash’ after the first trip to the buffet line. I figured the crab legs would at least make it worth it…….nope – they were hours old and leathery……terrible! Everything on the line was either old, cold or roughed up.
We had gone to the Starlight Luau the night before (terrible luau – but really great food) – so we figured the food would be similar in quality…….Nope!

I would stay away from any holiday Buffets at the Rainbow Lanai.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainbow Lanai also viewed

 

Been to Rainbow Lanai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainbow Lanai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.