We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No waiting for a table, good burgers” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chili's Grill & Bar Kahala Mall

Chili's Grill & Bar Kahala Mall
4211 Waialae Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816-5319
808-738-5773
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #662 of 1,940 Restaurants in Honolulu
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Barbecue, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night
Honolulu
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“No waiting for a table, good burgers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Saturday lunch with friends. Visit this location about monthly. Convenient Kahala Mall location. Usually no line (wait often too long at California Pizza Kitchen nearby). Hot food, clean and well maintained restaurant. Outside dining available. My favorite is the Mushroom Swiss burger. Ample parking. Young and friendly servers. Sign up for email coupons. They also participate in the Island Discount card program ($5 off).

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    11
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
honolulu
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Need to shape up Chili's Kahala!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My husband and I hand the craving for the Jalapeno Smokehouse burger on Tuesday. The first time my husband ate the burger was last week (Kahala). I had it last week and a month ago (Waikele). Friend had one too. We all commented how we loved the applewood smoked bacon that went with it. So that Tues. night, we went to eat at Chili's Kahala. We were (especially me!) was very disappointed that there was NO applewood smoked bacon-just cheap bacon. I asked the waiter and he said that it's no longer available- for a month now. I told him (Kendi) that can't be since my husband and I had JUST had it last week-there & I had it last month at the Chili's Waikele. A mgr (I'm assuming she's a manager-did not introduce herself) came to our table. She stated the bacon has not been available for 2 months and the cooks did not know how to cook it correctly. What the..? I had already let the incident go...but Then another mgr came to our table and stated that it hasn't been available for 6 months. WHAT?! He too did not introduce himself. We've been going to Chili's Kahala since it first opened. And the menu has been updated and HAS the Applewood bacon. $14 hamburger! Extemely disappointed with no applewood bacon and the LIES! There's been other problematic time, but this took the cake-with the lies. My lemons was served in a plastic cup cap cover and Kendi the waiter states that the dishes were being washed. WTF? It was not crowed at that time. And Then we were ignored. Service & food prep decreasing. Shape up Chili's Kahala! AND stop lying to your customers!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina Lake, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Visited 3 times during our stay in Honolulu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

As we were renting a place near this Chili's, and many other restaurants had long waits (due to Veteran's Day), we ended up dining here a number of times (sometimes just at the bar). Good variety & selection of food on the menu, service was very good except one evening where part of our order was cold, another incorrect - but was quickly rectified. The onion strings were great! We usually try to stay away from chain restaurants on our travels, but Chili's didn't disappoint.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Our daughter introduced my wife and I to Chili's during a recent trip to Hawaii. It is now one of our favourite restaurants. Wonderful menu, not just burgers, and great drinks menu too! Service was attentive without being over the top. And the Margaritas wow, I had a Coronarita Margarita which was amazing. Chili's is child friendly with great atmosphere. Highly recommend Chili's

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

From the first encounter to the last, everything was fantastic. The food, the service and the ambiance were all perfect. Good job!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chili's Grill & Bar Kahala Mall also viewed

 

Been to Chili's Grill & Bar Kahala Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chili's Grill & Bar Kahala Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.