We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good variety for the whole family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.

Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.
Ala Moana Mall, 1450 Ala Moana Blvd Ste 3253, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96814 (Ala Moana - Kakaako)
(808) 949-4867
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #159 of 1,987 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Ala Moana - Kakaako
Kapolei, Hawaii
1 review
“Good variety for the whole family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

My birthday daughter wanted snow crabs, other daughter wanted steak, and birthday son wanted a burger. Bubba Gump offered all three plus salads and lighter items. Food was all good and service was fun as usual. Kids enjoyed "Frozen" trivia instead of the usual BG. The birthday song and dance was hilarious thanks to our waitress who added her own dance flare. No reservations and we were seated within 5 minutes with a great view overlooking Ala Moana Park and the sunset.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    180
    52
    22
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pearl City, Hawaii
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Totally fulfilled my craving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I had been craving fish and chips for days so my husband and I decided to stop in today. Eric, our waiter was helpful and very friendly and suggested the bacon wrapped shrimp as an appetizer. All I can say is WOW!! Bacon anything is awesome but this was the perfect way to start our meal. My husband had the jambalaya and he loved it. My fish and chips with coleslaw was delicious. The batter was perfect! So many places overpower the fish with a thick batter but not here. Had a great lunch followed by walking around the mall to walk it off.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Missouri
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great food, ok service, cramped space”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

On our last day in Hawaii we ate a late lunch at Bubba Gumps at the mall. The food was excellent, but was lacking the service. Our waitress was very nice, but very scarce. During lunch it started raining, and even though it is a covered restaurant, it is open air, so with the wind, the rain was coming in. Staff ran and dropped the tarps to block the wind and rain, but by that time it was too late. There was plenty of time before the storm hit, you could see it coming, but they waited too long in my opinion. They also have the tables crammed in this space, so there is not much room to walk by without bumping someone or having a waitresses butt right next to you. It does have a beautiful view overlooking a harbor and the ocean. Again, the food was delicious, ordered Fried Calamari and a shrimp salad. Would like to visit a different location the next time we are in the vicinity of one.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oroville, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pretty yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Expensive depending on what you get. Hubby loved his seafood and shrimp mac and cheese. I had a cajun chicken sandwich which was good but anything special.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“All fried”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

There should be healthier selections on the menu. The Poe boy needs to be redone and enhanced. This is a novelty place that could be great if they tried to have good food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubba Gump Shrimp Co. also viewed

 

Been to Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bubba Gump Shrimp Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.