We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but delicious, and top-notch wait staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.

Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.
Ala Moana Mall, 1450 Ala Moana Blvd Ste 3253, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96814 (Ala Moana - Kakaako)
(808) 949-4867
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #131 of 1,913 restaurants in Honolulu
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Ala Moana - Kakaako
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Expensive but delicious, and top-notch wait staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Normally I avoid the crowded Ala Moana restaurants on a Friday evening but we were fortunate to get in before the rush. Each of us ordered something different, and everything I ever had here has been wonderful. I don't go often because I find this place pricey for what you get, but I want to share a story of how the EXCEPTIONAL wait staff handled a beastly diner.

At the table next to us sat a woman and her two small children. We tried to ignore them in spite of the fact that the older child was wailing and being very demanding. At the end of the meal, the woman left her card to pay for the meal and took the younger child to the rest room. Soon the older one chose to follow them. Their pates were 98% empty and so the table was cleared. She returned from the loo and began cussing and screaming at the staff to replace her food and drink because she had not finished eating. She was so unreasonable that I was about to call the police, but the waiters and manager handled the situation very professionally and calmly. MAJOR kudos to them and for that reason, I will return the restaurant and promote it to others.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    108
    123
    38
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saipan, Mariana Islands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Like forest says "life is a box of chocolates, you never know what you are gonna get" however that goes...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Bubba gump shrimp co at the ala moana mall was truly like a box of chocolates, and I truly didn't know what to expect...the servers were great and friendly, but for some reason, the food was decent, but barely worth the prices paid. Funny thing is I ate at the bubba gump @ the fisherman's wharf in san francisco and had a totally different experience...

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saipan, Mariana Islands
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awesome Dinner Bubba.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Bubba Gump Restaurant is on top of the Ala Moana Mall, Honolulu, HI. It has a great atmosphere, lots of stores, and lots of people. As for the waiting time its reasonable and expected for such great food and service.

With that said, once again, is on top of a mall. Second, surrounding it are other restaurants and a great outside bar called Mai Tai’s.

Staffs are very quick and friendly, as for the food, try the chips and salsa and “Shrimp Scampi”, “Accidental Fish and Shrimp” on top of steam rice and covered with lemon butter sauce. Folks this place also has a gift shop outside the restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Shrimp to Shore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Went out for a quick lunch and dropped into Bubba Gump Shrimp Co. Service was tremendous, a very engaging interesting server. We had great seating overlooking the ocean and the marina. Had the blueberry lemonade, shrimp, hush puppies and my wife had the pear/ berry/ chicken salad. No complaints, very tasty.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

If you love Forrest Gump or even if you don't, go and check out this restaurant. The food was great and you can take home the glass that your drink came in or visit the gift shop on your way out and pick up a souvenier.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubba Gump Shrimp Co. also viewed

 
Honolulu, Oahu
Honolulu, Oahu
 

Been to Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bubba Gump Shrimp Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.