We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going down hill?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kakaako Kitchen

Kakaako Kitchen
1200 Ala Moana Blvd, Ste 135, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96814-5205 (Ala Moana - Kakaako)
+1 808-596-7488
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #392 of 1,987 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Takeout
Neighborhood: Ala Moana - Kakaako
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Going down hill?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Don't ever get take out and order the Nalo green salad. It will be wilted, like pressed leaves. We questioned the manager about this, and she said, that's the way it is, because they are packaged ahead of time. She offered no recourse.

I like their shoyu chicken. It's one of the best on the island.

Some of their other plates have been inconsistent lately.

Service is usually friendly and efficient.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    70
    26
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Oregon
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A Great Late Bite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We were looking for something good to eat and we had read that Kaka'ako was a place to eat great food. We were not disappointed. There are different selections, from Sandwiches to Salads to warm meals. And they give you big portion that you can enjoy later on or the following day. Service was also great. The employees were eager to help us in decide to what to eat. They have an outside setting where you can see life happening. Give a try you might enjoy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“The Place to Go for Gourmet Plate Lunches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I've been going to Kakaako Kitchen ever since it opened. Everything I've tried here is good. I especially like their salads and the dressings they come with. The Seared Ahi Chop Salad has big chunks of seared ahi with a oriental dressing. I love the Spinach Salad with Crispy Calmari with a french type of dressing. Another winner is the Island Style Linguine and 5-Spice Shoyu Chicken. They also have daily specials.
They keep the tables and kitchen areas very clean and their service is great. They deliver the food to your table and they don't skimp on their portions so it's a good thing that the food is served in a take out plate. You can always take the left overs home.
Highly recommend this place if you are in the Ward/Kakaako area in Honolulu.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burbank, ca
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A notch above plate lunches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Gourmet food in a box is the concept of this place. My tempura catfish was plentiful and delicious. The loco moco kalua pork made my wife's day. Our companions, who rate this place their favorite island food eatery, tried the chicken fried chicken and weren't disappointed. Kaka'ako Kitchen is a mandatory stop every time we visit Honolulu.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, bc
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Gourmet food at a great price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

A couple of years ago, I was shopping in the area, when I stumbled accross Kaka'ako Kitchen. There was a promotion going on in the mall where vendors were offering items for $5. KK was participating with 4-5 offerings for $5. I had the sweet chili chicken. It was fantastic! Tender chunks of chicken fried to a golden crisp served with a sweet chili glaze over top. It came accompanied with a small green salad and a scoop of brown rice. I enjoyed it so much, I returned once more the following week. It wa so longer $5, but a much a Iarger portion for around $9. I later learned that the chef is quite a well known chef, owning a higher end sit down restaurant. This place is more casual: you place yourorder at the counter and they'll give you a number to place on your table. Although there are a few small tables inside, the outdoor seating is much more pleasant. Just keep an eye on the turlte doves!

This year, I was back in Honolulu, so I dragged my companion to this KK...all the while singing it's praises. (He's quite the foodie, so there was certain amount of pride riding on my recommendation). Happily, we was just as impressed as I was. We ordered the tempura fried catfish and crispy pork chops with onion gravy. The catfish came as 2 nicely fried pieces of moist fish in a light crispy batter, sprinkled with black sesame seeds. Served with a choice of green or mac salad and a scoop of white or brown rice. The pork chops were breaded fried (not everything on the menu is fried, if that's what you're wondering...it just turned out that's what we ordered)with a rich brown onion gravy. To my surprise, there was a scoop of stuffing served with the pork chops. This also came with a choice of green/mac salad and white/brown rice. Prices were in the $10-$11 range, but you could easily pay $18-$20 elsewhere for the priviledge of tablecloths and metal silverware!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kakaako Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Kakaako Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kakaako Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.