We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun atmoshere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tiki's Grill & Bar

Tiki's Grill & Bar
2570 Kalakaua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3663 (Waikiki)
808-923-8454
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tiki's Grill & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #48 of 1,946 Restaurants in Honolulu
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Cross street: Paokalani Ave.
Description: A hip, open-air restaurant with a retro South Pacific design and experience, Tiki's Grill & Bar features a menu highlighting the flavors of the islands prepared in an open exhibition kitchen. The restaurant appeals to residents and visitors alike and draws the late-night crowd with live contemporary Hawaiian entertainment every evening. Tiki's Grill & Bar provides a casual American and Pacific-Rim menu with flavors of the islands, using fresh local produce. Tiki’s offers lanai seating with beautiful sunsets on Kuhio Beach.
Neptune, NJ
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fun atmoshere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Tiki's is right across the street from the beach and within walking distance of our hotel. We should have made a reservation, but the wait wasn't too long. The food was great especially the prime rib poke and the mac nut crusted mahi. We ate in the restaurant part. The bar area was hopping.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner_TikisGrill, Owner at Tiki's Grill & Bar, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Mahalo for your compliments of our restaurant! We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Prime Rib Poke & Macadamia-Nut Crusted Mahi! We appreciate you taking the time to let us know that you liked it. Come back & see us again the next time you’re in Hawaii! Warm Aloha, Bill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    688
    533
    146
    53
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wasaga Beach, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had traditional Hawaiin foods, Poi, Lomi lomi and such, very good! Drinks were even better! Had a great view of the beach and the sunset for our first night there

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner_TikisGrill, Owner at Tiki's Grill & Bar, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Aloha Erin! We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed the food & drinks here at Tiki's! Mahalo for telling us about your experience! We hope to have you back soon! Sincerely, Bill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I have always come here for drinks but had never tried the food. I went there a week ago and tried all of the food a friend suggested. The truffle edamame was the best edamame I've ever had. The ahi steak was amazing, the mai tai was yummy, and the service was top notch. I highly recommend eating here and having a drink to enjoy the beautiful view of the beach and the sunset.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner_TikisGrill, Owner at Tiki's Grill & Bar, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Aloha! Mahalo for the compliments about our cuisine! We are very pleased to hear that you tried and enjoyed our truffle edamame! Great choice! Thanks so much for the feedback & we look forward to having you back in the future! Sincerely, Bill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good service and bad food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Jennifer gave good service but the ribs were very fatty and greasy. My wifes Mahi special made her ill. Very oily.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner_TikisGrill, Owner at Tiki's Grill & Bar, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Mahalo for the feedback on your visit and we are pleased to hear that your server was accommodating. However, we our truly sorry about the quality of food we presented to you & your wife. Poorly prepared food is not acceptable here at Tiki's, and we will be sure to address these concerns at once. We hope you understand this is not a normal occurrence for us here, and we would love for you to stop back in and let us prove that to you! Aloha, Bill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Horrible Loud Music....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Serious question....what on earth is this bar doing in Hawaii?

Horrible music. Horrible food. Loud, obnoxious.

My wife and I came to Hawaii to just be at peace. Instead, this monstrosity serves horrendous food. Plays the most awful, non-Hawaiian music. At least play Jimmy Buffett.

Seriously, I don't know who the city counsel is, but they should ban this place from Honolulu. Just awful.

Rating: Horrible.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner_TikisGrill, Owner at Tiki's Grill & Bar, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Aloha Mark. Thank you for your comments, but are you sure you came to Tiki's? Rest assured we do have Hawaiian songs as well as Jimmy Buffet songs every night, by both Hawaiian and non-Hawaiian musicians. Maybe you're getting us mixed up with another place in Waikiki closer to your hotel? I hope you do make it into Tiki's sometime to see why many people think we are the best independent restaurant in Hawaii. Warm Aloha, Bill Tobin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tiki's Grill & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Tiki's Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tiki's Grill & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.