We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mariposa

Mariposa
1450 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96814
(808) 951-3420
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mariposa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #155 of 1,967 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $35
Cuisines: American, Hawaiian, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Piikoi
Honolulu
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I went to Mariposa to celebrate my birthday and the food and service was consistent with the many times I visited whether it be for lunch, dinner or a special occasion. It is nice to know that I whenever I visit I can count on a very good dining experience. The service was excellent and the desert that I had which was a mocha waffle with fruits and ice cream was unusual but delicious.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    98
    39
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Love their popovers and chicken broth for lunch. Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I watched the lanterns floating at Ala Moana beach on Memorial Day from the patio while dining on salmon and later cheesecake for dessert.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, CA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Exquisite food with a beautiful view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Our group of six enjoyed a truly delicious dinner at Mariposa! The sweet rolls to start were warm and delicious. We sampled the pork and scallop appetizers and the barbeque shrimp as well as the Maui Onion salad (shared by two). The presentation for these were lovely as was the taste. For entrees, the pork chop was the best ever with a crunchy crust and succulent meat! The meat on the lamb shank easily fell off the bone. The lobster linguine was really tasty as well as the scallops. Everyone cleaned their plates as the food was so good! But we saved space for desert - the lilikoi pudding was overflowing with fruit with a pudding base and a large coconut toile butterfly! Very easy access from the parking lot below via the restaurant's direct access elevator. Casual atmosphere with many customer coming directly after shopping. Lovely view of the sunset as well! Just be warned that tip is automatically included for parties of six or more.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monument CO
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food while looking at the beach from above.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

If you do not want to make a reservation than come to the entrance slightly before 1100 and you can usually get a seat on the lanai where the best view of the beach side park and the ocean can be enjoyed. We always visit the Mariposa restaurant several times when we visit Oahu, about once a year. The service and food is excellent at all times. Try the specials but if you are not excited by them then the fish and chicken dishes are also excellent. The popovers are outstanding and are served with all meals. I enjoy the deserts which can be split between two diners.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Lovely bread, good atmosphere, and beautiful scenery.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

This restaurant located in the Neiman Mercus of the Ala Moana Shopping Center is very popular. So making a reservation is highly recommended even for the lunch.
The reasons why many people love it are as below.
- From it, especially from the terrace seats, you can enjoy the beautiful scenery of blue ocean, white beach and blue sky. That is Hawaii!
- The cost is reasonable for its food (For a lunch, I paid less than 70 USD for 2 adults including tips.)
- This restaurant accepts babies, and has high chairs for them.
- The bread is very lovely! You can ask another ones.

I love this place very much.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mariposa also viewed

 

Been to Mariposa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariposa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.