We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tasting sushi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yanagi Sushi

Yanagi Sushi
762 Kapiolani Blvd, Lowr 1, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96813-5293 (Ala Moana - Kakaako)
808-597-1525
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #194 of 1,945 Restaurants in Honolulu
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Ala Moana - Kakaako
Sydney Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great tasting sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We visited this restaurant with my family, and friends after many recommendations from local taxi drivers who said Nobu and Morimoto are overpriced, and the quality is the same if not better here. We were willing to give it a go, its a short drive past Ala Moana (around $13 USD cab fare one way) and the dwelling is very Rustic...don't judge a book by its cover though...the place looks very ordinary and has been there for 35 years, but the sushi is sensational. Very fresh and exotic cuts, yummy teriyaki chicken and Californian rolls for the littlies, and we had a private dining room too for 8 of us and the service was extraordinary. We tried volcano rolls with lobster, warm rolls, very yummy. The place was busy and packed surprisingly. For just over $130 for the family which included alcoholic beverages, we ate very well and I would visit again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    26
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“This is the right place to eat sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Not only is this an excellent sushi restaurant, there are things on the menu I haven't seen/eaten since living in Tokyo. Shishamo, tororo, natto, all exotic and delicious. The sushi is fresh and delicate, the toro(ahi fatty underbelly), really does melt in your mouth. And fresh from their tank abalone? Wow! The tempura is very nicely done, as are many other menu options. That being said, the restaurant does have an old fashioned 50s-60s feel, but what's wrong with that? Does everything have to sparkle like an International House of Pancakes? Service was friendly, did not feel rushed in the least, and when we tried to tip the valet parking attendant, (all we had was a $10 bill), assuming there was a charge +tip, he initially refused saying it was too much. We laughed so hard, when have you ever had a tip refused?

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moline, IL
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Sushi Supreme”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

A very traditional Sushi place that has been around for many years, so it doesn't get the press that newer places get. This is not your average loud music sushi bar that specializes in rolls. The fish is very fresh and the portions are generous. Ask your chef about unusual species of seafood they have in fresh that day, you will be amazed at what they have. The Saki menu is very diverse as well. Always busy, so a reservation for weekends is recommended, unless you have been partying all night & find yourself hungry at midnight, they stay open until 2 AM!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very good Japanese restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have dined at Yanagi several times in the past couple of years. We went there Memorial Day night after a concert at Blaisdell. As always the food was very good. I had the Tempura full dinner and 3 of the other people in our party had the butterfish dinner. All was very good. Surprised that the restaurant was packed on a holiday night but I am guessing that many of the concert goers now go to Yanagi now that Le Guignol has closed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Our family loved this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were seated in a private room with very little wait. Excellent service and price. Our three teenagers loved the food and so did we!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yanagi Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Yanagi Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yanagi Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.