We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must try” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alan Wong's Restaurant

Alan Wong's Restaurant
1857 S King St, Fl 3RD, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96826-2100
808-949-2526
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Alan Wong's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 1,919 Restaurants in Honolulu
Price range: $50 - $51
Cuisines: Hawaiian, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Punahou Street and McCully Street
Description: Consistently voted as one of Hawaii's best restaurants, James Beard award-winning Chef Alan Wong uses the freshest locally grown produce and the bounty of the Pacific Ocean to create local favorites with a contemporary twist. Inspired by the unique ethnic influences found in Hawaii today, his menu reflects Hawaii's cultural diversity of its people, traditions, and lifestyles. "Taste Hawaii."
toronto
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Must try”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We had the classic tasting menu and the food was amazing. The potions were more like 1.5 app and 2.5 entrees. Service was outstanding and dont miss out on their estate coffee. Liked!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    539
    138
    58
    38
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love it, love it, love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We visited Alan Wong's to celebrate our engagement whilst on holidays. The location is not where you think a classy restaurant would be and there is definitely no ocean view or super classy decor you would think of seeing in a high class establishment however the food was AMAZING! We had the taster menu of 5 courses with wine pairing and cannot fault one of the dishes or wines. The taste and presentation was exceptional. Service was also exceptional and our waiter was full of smiles and knowledge of the food and wine he was serving.

Given it was our engagement all the staff congratulated us and we were presented with a package of cookies from Hawaii, a celebratory taster dessert and our very own take home menu that was dated and also congratulating us on our engagement.

If you want a special night out and especially if you love food this is the place to go..



Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Excellent Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Excellent Food, Presentation and Service.
Tasting menu is superb.
Every item is prepared to perfection and presented like artwork.
Food consists of wonderful textures and flavors.
Desserts are creative delicious and memorable.
Wait staff is very helpful.
Highly recommended for an exceptional dining experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Sooooo disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I read loads of reviews for this place and not one bad one so I was very excited to try the food here. We arrived a little early and were shown to the bar with an iPad to peruse the menu. We were going to have the taster menu which wasn't on the iPad so had to ask for a hard copy menu. All grand so far. Sitting at the bar was dull by any stretch of the imagination- the decor is so in need of a make over in this spot. We are sitting looking at the wall and can't help but check it all out ... And it's dismal. The lady who was serving our drinks was unsmiling, perfunctory and pretty dismal as well. Ah well we can't all have a good day..along comes the friendly waitress to show us to our table..... Oops we had to go back for our drinks( now remember this is a fancy expensive restaurant -these are the details, the little touches, the finesse that sets the tone), pull out our chairs ourselves and cosy up to the chefs table where we get a lovely smile from one of the chefs. So our first course comes which looked great but my heart was sinking- it looked as heavy as lead. Fried crispy wontons encasing ( was it tuna?) well cooked but fairly blah combo with very blah garnish and a soup that tasted like Campbell's ; sugary, gluppy and of nothing special, topped with a toasted crispy sandwich of cheese , foie gras and bread. Now I did read the menu but I thought there would some light relief from the cheese and foie gras in the tomato soup ... But no - the soup was as heavy and rich and creamy as you can possibly imagine.... Now I was worried because I was already full on so little. The next course was delicious lobster - so very delicious but again the garnish was oily and sweet with no citrus or acid balance... At this point I was dying in my seat.. I have to say that my husband who likes heavy rich fatty food was enjoying his meal . The rest of the meal was a blur; fish that was laden with sugar, fried pork that swam in a piquant sauce again laden with sugar and finally a little relief in the dessert that had fresh fruit and a wonderfully fluffy but too sweet coconut sorbet. Perhaps I just don't like this rich unrelentingly heavy sweet food but I was completely flattened by it and very very underwhelmed by the tastes and combinations. The waiters are helpful, informative, robotic and distinctly un personable ..........

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Meals are classy, but fawning should left to royalty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Excellent cooking, and high-quality food. Excellent whole tomato salad Twice-cooked Kali ribs tender, but slightly sweet without accompanying sauce. Substituted green onion sauce for mahi mahi, instead of its wasabi sauce, was a great decision. Waiter provided wasabi sauce, anyway, for comparison sake. Lilikoi brulee dessert completed and complemented a balanced fine meal.

The presentation of all dishes was consistently attractive. The only distraction to me was the seemingly frequent and artificial fawning by the wait staff, which reminded me of the kind of overdone greetings one gets from most Wells Fargo Banks. A little kissy, if you know what I mean.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alan Wong's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Alan Wong's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alan Wong's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.