We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“He cooks for the President” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alan Wong's Restaurant

Alan Wong's Restaurant
1857 S King St, Fl 3RD, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96826-2100
808-949-2526
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Alan Wong's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 1,940 Restaurants in Honolulu
Price range: $50 - $51
Cuisines: Hawaiian, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Punahou Street and McCully Street
Description: Consistently voted as one of Hawaii's best restaurants, James Beard award-winning Chef Alan Wong uses the freshest locally grown produce and the bounty of the Pacific Ocean to create local favorites with a contemporary twist. Inspired by the unique ethnic influences found in Hawaii today, his menu reflects Hawaii's cultural diversity of its people, traditions, and lifestyles. "Taste Hawaii."
Zionsville, Indiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“He cooks for the President”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

WOW -- an absolutely memorable evening for both food and service. You will not get a better meal in Honolulu. Everything we tasted was over the top delicious and our server was absolutely amazing. Alan Wong cooks for our President and I can certainly understand why! Expensive but worth the price.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    570
    153
    59
    40
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Oregon
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Wong got it wight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

One of the best dining experiences we've had. The food was marvelous, the service fit for a King and the ambiance fitting. My highest recommendation.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Dinner @ Alan Wong's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This was our second time at Alan Wong's and it was an unforgettable experience. The first time at Alan Wong's we were seated at an interior table and was bothered by the somewhat cramped seating... This time we had a window-side table... what a world of difference... a completely different and much more memorable experience... much less noise and very enjoyable.
The wine list is impeccable and the food is outstanding. I had the “A TASTING OF THE CLASSICS” and highly recommend it... the Chopped Ahi Sashimi and Avocado Salsa Stack was delightful as was the Twice Cooked Short Rib, Soy Braised and Grilled “Kalbi” Style... the desert was too die for...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saratoga ny
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic.......as always!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We travel to Oahu every couple of years and this is the first restaurant I call to make reservations ( I actually call 2 weeks before our trip to make sure we get a table). We've never experienced an off day here. Food, service, and ambiance are always worth the extra money Alan Wong's will set you back. Da Bag is the one thing we always order for an appetizer and any of the fish for the main course (Ginger Crusted Onaga this time)....just delicious.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“A nice creative meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Atmosphere was casual and boisterous, which was nice for a fine dining estblishment. Appetizers were excellent. Zucchini and lobster fritter and tuna dumpling were both delicious and beautifully presented. My husbands fish was delicious as well. My steak, although flavorful, was overpowered by the sauce and actually tasted better without it. Desert was our favorite part, both in presentation and flavor. We gave service a 3 because we really didn't think there was much effort made. The waited was a bit abrupt, his appearances were limited and there were no inquiries as to whether we were enjoying our meal. Overall, we truly enjoyed AW and would certainly return.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alan Wong's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Alan Wong's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alan Wong's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.