We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Very Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duke's Waikiki

Duke's Waikiki
2335 Kalakaua Ave, Ste 116, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
(808) 922-2268
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 1,940 Restaurants in Honolulu
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The Very Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I've now been to Honolulu four times now over the past 5 years and I must say, Duke's, by far, is the very best place to eat. Yes, it might cost you a pretty penny and yes, if you don't make a reservation plan on waiting a while, but it's well worth it. We've made Duke's our traditional last dinner on the island before we leave. And what's not to like; the indoor/outdoor seating over looking the ocean, the quartet of local stringers that come around and play traditional music tableside, or the ambiance inside the restaurant that transports you to another place and time. How about the food, the salad and fruit bar, the steaks, the fish, all fresh and cooked to perfection and let's not forget about the wait staff, very friendly and they know the menu and food without question. Yes, if you're in Honolulu, you must eat at Duke's.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,069
    1,436
    460
    99
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Place to eat and watch the surfers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

You'll love the food. The prices are a little high, but everything on the menu is fantastic. You'll love the food. The prices are a little high, but everything on the menu is fantastic.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“The Duke would be proud.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The rear bar over looking Waikiki beach is a perfect setting for this bar. Staff are very attentive. Highly recommend the cocktails in particular the Lava flow. Loved the artists who perform there during the evenings. Check out the fish tanks with some of the most beautiful fish I've seen.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Awesome, dude!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Everyone said we had to go to Duke's, and are we glad we went on our first day so we could go back numerous times! The food was fabulous, the service was superb, and the view of Waikiki...well, it doesn't get any better than that. Our hotel (Sheraton Waikiki) was a short beach walk away, so we were able to stroll in for lunch after swimming on several days. You may need a reservation for dinner, but we never had a problem getting a great table for lunch. You gotta go to Duke's, dude!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great time at Duke's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I had heard that when I get to Honolulu I have to eat at Duke's. Before we even got there I had the reservations made! It was a great experience! The atmosphere was great. A trio of Hawaiian musicians played at our table. The drinks and food were very good-I had the Huli Huli chicken and for dessert we all had to try the Hula Pie. The waiter was great and the manager was checking around to make sure everything was ok. There was a reason the place was so busy! The food and experience are great!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duke's Waikiki also viewed

 

Been to Duke's Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duke's Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.