We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Malasadas!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leonard's Bakery

Leonard's Bakery
933 Kapahulu Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816-1434 (Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis)
808-737-5591
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 1,987 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
Neighborhood: Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Malasadas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Our family visited this bakery after dinner one night for dessert after a local waiter told us not to miss it--absolutely no line (I'm sure it's packed at breakfast)...We ordered a dozen "plain" malasadas which were fantastic! We didn't realize how BIG they'd be so we saved half the box for breakfast (note: they don't keep all that well in a hotel room, definitely better fresh).
Fairly close to Diamond Head, it's probably a good stop before or after that hike.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,947 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,179
    569
    167
    24
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melville, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent bakery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

This bakery makes donuts to order. When you receive your order, the donuts are steaming hot and taste is excellent. There are usually lines so be prepared to wait but it's worth it. Parking is not the greatest but again it's worth the effort.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“1st stop off the airplane”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

My friend who lives in Honolulu took me directly to Leonard's after she picked me up from the airport. It was on my list to visit anyway, but apparently she loves the place so there was no doubt we'd stop there. I had the regular malasada as well as having a custard filled malasada. They were both delicious and they are truly amazing while they are still warm. Apparently, the trio behind us in line were there for the same purpose and they were pleased with theirs as well. I wish I would have bought some of their other treats that evening but I didn't and we didn't have much time to during my visit to go back. I sure wish I had though. Its definitely worth stopping to get yourself a few malasadas. I couldn't believe how big they were.... 2 is more than filling.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice but not great as the reviews may say”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We were desperate to try these after reading the reviews and were so excited when we found Leonard's truck just opposite the premium outlet centre. They are approximately $1 for the plain ones and $1.25 for the filled ones.
We ordered cinnamon, sugar, custard and coconut and they were fresh and hot.
I would say they were ok but not mind blowing as we were led to believe. They are heavy on the dough and to be honest the filling is somewhat tasteless. People do love them as the reviews would testify and also the queue was long and people were buying box fills at a time, but just in my opinion I would not go out of my way to get them but if you are in the area then any things worth a try once I suppose.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
“Jetjoc”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Fun place ! Hot Malasadas Custard was our favorite ! Give em a try !! Eat em while there Hot ! ...........................

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leonard's Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Leonard's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leonard's Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.