We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must have!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leonard's Bakery

Leonard's Bakery
933 Kapahulu Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816-1434 (Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis)
808-737-5591
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 1,987 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
Neighborhood: Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
Alturas, FL
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Must have!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

At least one time during your stay in Waikiki you MUST make your way to Leonard's and have a malasada! They are amazing and melt in your mouth! Mornings always have a line, but they are open until 10 most nights - so have a dessert! Was in and out in 5 mins after 6pm one night.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,947 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,179
    569
    167
    24
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Renton, Washington
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Malasadas!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Not particularly easy to get to, but worth the trip. We stuffed ourselves with fresh warm Malasadas (Portuguese doughnuts) -- YUM! There is a line but it moves fast. It is great that they make these things all day long because warm and fresh is the way to go.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Get a malasada!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Everyone we know who lives on/visits Oahu has to make a stop at Leonard's for a box of hot, fresh malasada. Apparently they are a Portugese delicacy and the founders of Leonard's are Portugese so it's absolutely a treasure to have this bakery here. It's in town so a bit hard to find but worth the search. Don't miss Leonard's!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Malasadas...in a retro style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Found this place after leaving Safeway, from the outside its like a 1950's film set with the retro neon totem sign. Not many parking spots here and the neighbouring stores make it clear you can't use their parking bays too. The choice of cakes and pastries s excellent, the service was almost too speedy as I would have liked more time to peruse. The selection of malasadas my family came out with we're very nice. But have to say not the best we had on Oahu, see my review of Napoleons in Hawaii Kai.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Forget the Diet and Enjoy!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Having read about Leonard's Bakery and their famous Malasadas, we had to go there to find out for ourselves, After a 20 minute walk from our hotel, we were thinking "this better be worth it - hope they haven't sold out". The first think we noticed was the queue out the door, but it seemed to be moving so we joined it. As we entered the store, we could see all the other cakes/pies available for sale. We decided on some plain malasadas, some vanilla custard filled ones, and some of the flavour of the month - passionfruit custard filled. They come out fresh and hot so we walked back to our hotel to share with our friends. These little doughnut like pastries are amazing, and we ate them all in one sitting - it was our breakfast/brunch. We also bought an apple pie which was great, and the macadamia cookies to bring back home. I wish I had gone there earlier in my visit so I could have gone there more than once!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leonard's Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Leonard's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leonard's Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.