We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to try the Malasadas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leonard's Bakery

Leonard's Bakery
933 Kapahulu Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816-1434 (Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis)
808-737-5591
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 1,945 Restaurants in Honolulu
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Bakery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
San Antonio, TX
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“You have to try the Malasadas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stopped by in the morning to try the Malasadas. They were delicious and I would recommend that you stop by when you are in Honolulu. Basically they are light donuts without a hole and with various fillings. Quite tasty with a cup of coffee.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,619 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    990
    461
    138
    22
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wow the best malasada's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

They are amazing. I ordered a dozen sugar malasada's and they came out burning hot and so good. We also got some filled ones but I prefered the original with sugar. Amust if going to Honolulu.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Our private tour guide said we had to stop at Leonard's for a malasada, a delicious warm pastry. This is a place the locals frequent, and I know why. They also had a lot of other bakery goods. If you rent a car and crave bakery goods, don't miss Leonard's.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A must-eat in Honolulu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Leonard's malasadas have always been a Honolulu landmark. I should know because going to the bakery had always been a treat when I went the UH graduate school years ago. On this visit to Honolulu, we first bought some cinnamon and custard-filled masaladas at their wagon at the Waekele premium outlets. Then when The Bus passed by Kapahulu St. on the way to Kahala Mall, we made it a point to stop at Leonard's. We bought malasadas again and ate them with coffee right outside the bakery. The filled Portuguese donuts were so yummy that I stopped by there again to buy several plus a large sweet bread (pao doce) that I hand-carried back to my home country.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great malasadas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Malasadas are brought out warm and gooey. And they are delicious and filling! Have milk ready nearby. The actual building is nothing fancy. Just an old '50s style drive-in type. They could definitely use some renovation as there is not enough parking and there is no dining area to sit and enjoy your treats.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leonard's Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Leonard's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leonard's Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.