We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for snacks” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hau Tree Bar

Hau Tree Bar
2005 Kalia Road, Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
808-949-4321
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #556 of 1,946 Restaurants in Honolulu
Cuisines: Bar
Restaurant details
Princeton, NJ.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Good for snacks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I ordered nachos and they came in a plastic box, the cold chips on one side, and small containers of salsa, sour cream and liquid cheese. Had to put it together myself.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    13
    16
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Langley City, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Great location, friendly service but hard to get a table! Go for the Mcgarrett Mojito :) It was delicious!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pricey, but still the cheapest at the resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

For those of you who do not wish to venture out once you get to a resort, then this bar is a good spot for "Happy Hour" or lunch. It is situated with a beautiful view of the beach, but it does close pretty early. The drinks are expensive, but if you walk 100' to the Tropics, you'll pay a $1 more per beverage, at least. The waitress do hustle, but I think the logistics of the bar/food service makes the waits longer than they have to do. If you order food the server has to leave the bar area and go to another building to get the food. During our visit, may people complained their food wasn't hot, only mildly warm. They also ran out of certain menu items at about 2:00PM. That's pretty bad considering they have such a limited menu. The aforementioned "Happy Hour" is the best at the resort (3-5PM daily). There is a very limited number of seats at the bar so you can watch the big screens. Draft beers are $2 less, down to $6. Their Hawaii 5-0 cocktails are also reduced by $2. I can't give you specifics, because none of the resort bars provide you with a copy of your room charge. Still it was nice to relax at the bar, when the rains came and meet some very nice people.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Expensive drinks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

You pay for the beautiful view. I only had drinks by the pool. Wait for happy hour. I had a piña colada and for 12 not that good. The happy hour priced drinks are better

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Missouri
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great drinks and server, long wait”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

The drinks were great, loved the Danno Banano! Our server was super friendly and gave great drink suggestions, but they need more staff, specifically during happy hour. Many tables were complaining about how long it took to place their orders, much less get their drinks. Luckily our specific server hustled, so wasn't too long. Nice views of the beach, casual atmosphere and great Happy Hour specials from 3-5pm.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hau Tree Bar also viewed

 

Been to Hau Tree Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hau Tree Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.