We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hiking Hawaii Cafe

Hiking Hawaii Cafe
1910 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #152 of 1,911 restaurants in Honolulu
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Dessert, Pizza, Vegan, Vegetarian, Healthy, Bagels
Description: This coffee shop is also the center for Hiking Hawaii, which does hiking tours all over Oahu.
Restaurant details
Description: This coffee shop is also the center for Hiking Hawaii, which does hiking tours all over Oahu.
Cookeville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Nestled below street level near Waikiki's glitzy hotels, this funky cool breakfast spot serves up great coffee and excellent fresh food to suit any palate. Try the pitaya bowl (dragon fruit) or a breakfast pizza. They also have killer tours of Oahu including snorkeling and cliff diving off the famous North Shore. Do yourself a favor and find this place - they have a great thing going on there!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    19
    4
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Funky hidden little breakfast spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

What a great find.. nice people, good coffee and breakfast. Near the Alana Doubletree. Good healthy fare, smoothies, etc.. plus, they have a hiking tour counter where you can plan excursions if you want.. We didn't do this, but had coffee and breakfast there several times. Always good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Hight light of the trip.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I was joined Kuliouou Ridge hike from hiking Hawaii café. it was tough for the beginner like me. but the view was one of image I will never forget in my life.
Our tour guide was friendly, and I'm happy to have tour company for tourist that show something different from most of the big tour bus spot.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best healthy breakfast option”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

For a vegetarian and my gluten intolerant partner, this cafe had the best gluten free and vege breakfast food we could find in Honolulu.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humble, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing people helping to create amazing experiences!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

So glad we found this place on Groupon. Even though we used a Groupon, we were still got great customer service. We did the Kuliouou Ridge Trail Hike and it was amazing. The hike was challenging but the payoff at the top was well worth the effort. Our guide Daniel was awesome! We had such a great time that we ended up getting the Groupon for the North Shore day trip and it was the highlight of our trip. We were lucky to get Daniel as our guide for that trip too. He was really cool and let us spend more time on the things we liked. So much better than most tours where you have to stick to a scheduled agenda. Crystal, the owner, was great and very friendly. Everyone we met there was really cool. We ended up eating breakfast at the cafe four times during our week in Waikiki. We just couldn't get enough of the breakfast pizza. We had lunch there too. The food was so good!!! If we go back to Oahu, you can bet we will do more activities and meals with Hiking Hawaii Cafe.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hiking Hawaii Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Hiking Hawaii Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hiking Hawaii Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.