We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch on Fridays” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HASR Bistro

HASR Bistro
Pauahi St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI
808-533-4277
Improve this listing
Ranked #249 of 1,987 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Honolulu
2 reviews
“Lunch on Fridays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hasr Bistro is a fairly new restaurant in the heart of Honolulu, adjacent to Hasr's Wine Cellar which has been in operation for a number of years. The adjacent location became available a few months ago and the owners renovated and built a restaurant as a true "Bistro" with outside seating at a garden atmosphere. The menu selection is small but mighty.
Compliments to the chef. From soup to nuts..... it is a delicious eating experience. I am fortunate that I work within walking distance and I will be visiting Hasr on any given Friday for lunch.
And yes! The wine selection is not to be by-passed. I had the pleasure to wine tasting prior to the opening of the restaurant -:)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    14
    1
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“great jazz music and wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We went late on a Saturday night to catch a friend who was accompanying a jazz singer on his guitar. Almost like a private concert with only a few stragglers at the bar. We enjoyed the old standard songs with a bottle of wine. Parking was difficult to find in the downtown area even late at night.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Just go!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This restaurant isn't fancy inside but the care and attention from the owner, the chef to his food is fabulous. The choices on the menu are interesting and tasty and incoming fish of the day is a treat. So friendly and if you're lucky a wine tasting might be going on next door to a wine shop adjoined to the restaurant with really good wines.

If you are in Honolulu , treat yourself to a lovey evening out, hopefully the guitarist will be playing softly in the background as he was when we were ther to make the ambience complete. This is a very affordable restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A real find near Chinatown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

When we were in Honolulu a couple of weeks ago we read in the Sunday Advertiser about a new European style bistro associated with a wine shop next door at the edge of Chinatown on Pauahi between Beretania and King. We went for lunch the following Tuesday and were so impressed we returned the following Thursday. The grand opening was held the Sunday after we were there but we did not go back downtown for that. In a nutshell, this could well be one of the best 5 eateries in Honolulu and it is a real value. All four of the entrees we had over the two meals were superb. I had ossobucco with veal cheeks and risotto on one occasion and ciappino on the other. Both were up to the high standards you would expect of a Rome or Florence restaurant.

A fine addition to the dining scene in Honolulu and a good value.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed HASR Bistro also viewed

 

Been to HASR Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HASR Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.