We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sandwiches” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Tour Cafe

La Tour Cafe
888 N Nimitz Hwy, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96817
(808) 697-5000
Improve this listing
Ranked #464 of 1,789 Restaurants in Honolulu
Cuisines: French
Restaurant details
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Stopped in for lunch with a friend and was pleasantly surprised. I had a Vietnamese meatball sandwich which was really very good. Ambiance is lacking but this is a good solid choice for lunch and cookies.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    10
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, HI
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Fabulous lunch spot, can't be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Definitely something that you have to try. This fabulous lunch spot has delicious, fresh made pizzas and sandwiches. Gourmet not-quite fast food. Great, great stuff, delicious salads, and fries that are unbeatable.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Bon Appetite!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We came here thinking it was a crepe place. Not really - but they do have all sorts of macaroons (we had the strawberry and it was very yummy for $1.85 per macaroon). The have sandwiches and flat bread pizzas. We ordered the chili lim chicken flat bread for $11. It is 10" and has 6 slices. It fed two of us nicely. It was delicious and we will go back. The pizza was a bit oily, though, so get lots of napkins. They gave a 10% military discount. You walk in and order. Then they give you a number and your food is brought to you.

Parking can be difficult. This location is next to Lowe's (but cannot park in their lot as it is fenced in and cannot walk to it). It is in the strip mall with 7-11 and Party City. Turn at 7-11 and go behind the strip mall (follow signs for Party City parking); when you eventually come back to the front of the mall, turn left to park there -- if you turn right you will go in front of the strip mall and may not find a spot at all because that is where the other businesses park. There is more parking to the left.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Macaron”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Do you like French Macarons? Then you must come here! They have quite an assortment of flavors and very authentic tasting. Green Tea, Yuzu, Guava, Chocolate, Strawberry, Nutella and on and on.
Haven't tried the other foods but we always stop in for the Macarons!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tasty but not cheap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My girlfriend recommended this place saying that their "Eggplant Parmesian" was out of this world so I had to check it out. It was okay, acutally good. Came with a salad and pickles which was quite filling. For drinks, I had their Vietnamese iced coffee and I would go back just to drink this sweet treat. I heard that their price went up a dollar recently and wonder, for the location (it's kind of out of nowhere) and the atmosphere (kinda like a cafeteria) is it really worth it?

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tour Cafe also viewed

 

Been to La Tour Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Tour Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.