We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food good . . . wait time . . . crazy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Cucina Ristorante Italiano

La Cucina Ristorante Italiano
725 Kapiolani Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96813
808-593-2626
Improve this listing
Ranked #418 of 1,939 Restaurants in Honolulu
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Italy
Top Contributor
320 reviews 320 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
“Food good . . . wait time . . . crazy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The chef at this restaurant is very talented . . . this is without dispute. However, this place needs a few modifications to keep the patrons from turning to skeletons before the food arrives. Firstly, bread should arrive immediately and the waitstaff should ACKNOWLEDGE that you've been waiting for your food for over an HOUR. I wanted to order a glass of prosecco and was told that the price was actually $2 more than quoted on the menu (bad business). Also, the menu has too many offerings for one person to prepare when the restaurant gets busy. The menu should be narrowed to a reasonable number of selections, making it possible for the kitchen to keep up with the orders. In all, the food was GOOD, but the wait time will keep us from returning.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    8
    2
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“If you have patience, this will be your favorite Italian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

By far, the best Italian restaurant in Honolulu but at a price. The price is patience- everything is made from scratch, so it takes time to get your order, lots of time. And, patience to get a reservation; you need to book weeks in advance because the place is so small. Bring a few bottles of wine and enjoy an order of bruschetta and melanzane parmigiana while waiting for your entree, though you will have to wait for your appetizers, too. Oh, did I mention they don't take reservations unless you have party of four or more. So, invite another couple and order family style. You will want to share the entrees because they are soooo good. Oh, did I mention they don't take phone reservations? You have to reserve a table via e-mail. If you are adventurous, and only two in your party, you can chance it and try to get one of the two tables for two, or eat at the small bar. But if you do, be sure to bring your patience...

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapolei
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Worst system ever!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

So reading reviews we saw they don't take reservations for less than party of four. It opens at 530 on the weekends so we got there at 500 and yes there was shortly a line forming. The staff shows up at latterly 5min before 530 rushing thru the side door trying to set up. At 535 the waitress comes out the side (place still not open) and tells us that the way it works is there is only one cook so dinner may take about an hour to come. I asked her how was that possible since we were the second people in line. She said that the people who had reservations had "pre ordered their food" What?? How? and Why? First of all if this the system they should post it somewhere. Either on the website or on the door so people don't wait for over half and hour for nothing. And if parties of four or more are not only able to make reservations but also pre-order this really seems like some sort of discrimination for parties of two or three. What ever happed to first come first serve??? I get having a reservation but pre-ordering so others wait hours for food even though they got there first. Either do not take any reservations or stop taking pre orders. Ridiculousness!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

We ate early, our waiter was very pleasant but despite not being busy the service was not as good as it could have been. Wine was not poured, bread ordered did not turn up. We had two pasta mains which were ok, but average. The bruschetta starter though was excellent. No children's menu. Wine was expensive even for Honolulu. Location excellent.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Italian .. A bit out of the way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We really enjoyed our food. The atmosphere was great and prices were excellent on wine and food. The pasta is home made and service as great.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cucina Ristorante Italiano also viewed

 

Been to La Cucina Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cucina Ristorante Italiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.