We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Informative and amazing tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guides of Oahu Day Tours

Guides of Oahu Day Tours
1288 Kapiolani Blvd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI
808 944-2758
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 355 Activities in Honolulu
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore lush rainforests, waterfalls, green mountains, volcanic craters and meet the endangered species of the island. Educational eco-tours include geology, archaeology, mythology, natural history and the cultural heritage of Hawaii. Group & custom private tours.
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Informative and amazing tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Mitch is one of the most educated people in Hawaii in terms of his knowledge of the land and the flora. His wide breadth of interests include medicinal treatments for virtually any ailment known to man, to the wonderful hidden gems both natural and historical that Oahu has to offer. Take a tour with Mitch and you'll see an entirely different side of the island and learn far more than you could imagine. It was also great to see that he was a fellow participant in the 'Paleo' lifestyle and diet. My hat is off to Mitch. Take the tour!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    0
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Best tour I've ever been on”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We met Mitch at the top of Diamond Head and signed up for his tour... and we were not disappointed. Mitch is the nicest, most knowledgeable guy you'll ever meet. Everytime he spoke I learned something new about plants, ancient Hawaiian culture/history, or life in general. Great tour..several hours long but flew by. Wish it kept going!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Awesome tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Mitch is an awesome dude. Met him at the top of diamond head. Was a little worried it was part of a tourist trap but we went along. When we first met, he told us about some good places to eat and some facts about the island. Tour was awesome. Would have never found these places without him or had a context of what we were actually looking at.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of a kind tour and guide!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I met Mitch at the top of diamond head (which is where most people on the tour had met him too)! I was immediately excited and curious about what he had to say about his tour; it sounded totally different to all the other circle island tours etc that you see online! If you're thinking about doing this tour, don't second guess it!! Mitch is a really enthusiastic and knowledgable guy! From the start to the end of the tour he amazed us with his knowledge of the island, the hawaiian people and their culture, survival techniques, healthy lifestyle habits, the history of the island etc!! He took us to the kind of places I really wanted to go to see the 'real hawaii', but never would have found on my own!! You also have to admire Mitch for making the long, hot hike up to diamond head almost everyday to advertise his tour!! Will definitely go back to Oahu to spend more time at the places he showed us and learn more!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattoon, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

When we visited Hawaii, we wanted to see more than what the touristy destinations had to offer. Mitch's tour was exactly what we were looking for! He showed us the hidden parts of Hawaii that we would have never known about if we hadn't taken his tour. Very knowledgeable on Hawaii's history, as well as nature and survival skills. Looking back on our vacation, this was the most memorable events we did. If you are wanting to see the real Hawaii, Guides of Oahu is the way to go!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guides of Oahu Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Guides of Oahu Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guides of Oahu Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.