We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Hen's Night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cholo's Mexican Restaurant

Cholo's Mexican Restaurant
North Shore, Honolulu, Oahu, HI
808-637-3059
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #448 of 1,987 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Nelson Bay, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A great Hen's Night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Fantastic place for a Hen's night......usually you cannot reserve tables, but because of the number they allowed us to do so. Lovely food, amazing Margharitas....every flavour to taste.
The bride to be had a great time and that's what it was all about. Definitely a fun place with good Mexican food.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    23
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cool place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We were staying nearby and decided to try this place out. We enjoyed our food and left just in time to catch the sunset. We would eat here again

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Average-Good Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

What you think of this establishment will depend on what your standards in Mexican food are. The ahi burrito is quite tasty but realize that the ahi is cooked fully - if you want it seared, ask in advance. The salsa is addictive, as are the chips - the sodas are free refills. I thought the ahi salad in the taco shell was quite fresh and they were able to work w/my food allergies.

The restaurant does not feel clean, tables, floors and chairs could be cleaned more thoroughly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great spot on the North Shore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We had a craving for Mexican while on the North Shore and found this place in an outdoor shopping center we had stopped at. We were seated immediately and the waiter helped us pick out our frozen concoctions. He made great recommendations! The food was also delicious and they offered some island flair to their menu. The restaurant is very eclectic-looking and open-air. We did watch a bird fly in and land on someone's table, which was hilarious!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Average Mexican food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Average to below average Mexican food. The service was good but we were disappointed in the food. Some friends recommended Cholo's, and maybe we were expecting too much...

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cholo's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Cholo's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cholo's Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.