We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the first places I would take my friends and family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lucky Belly

Lucky Belly
50 North Hotel Street, Smith Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96817
8085311888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 1,789 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
seattle, wa
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“One of the first places I would take my friends and family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

as a tourist to Honolulu, we stopped by downtown and i was initially hesitant to come in for some noodles-assuming it was just another "noodle" joint. instead, the minute i looked at the menu, got a swirling whiff of the kitchen flavors, i knew this place was delicious. i'm really glad we ate here and if i lived in Hawaii, id come here every week.

we started out with the beet and goat cheese salad and the shrimp gyozas, wow-a! the guac puree with the gyozas was a perfect compliment and i couldn't get enough of it. the green salad that accompanied the beet salad needed more dressing and a bit of salt and our server was not shy and obliged with our request. we got way too much food cause now its ramen time. my favorite part of the ramen was the hard boiled egg with runny yolk, broth and noodle-ok pretty much all of it.

service was excellent and very friendly. comfy ambience and fun place to dine. great for a meetup with friends, a date or just solo.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    43
    9
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Very Glad We Stopped In For Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

On the advice of Trip Advisor reviews, we stopped by Lucky Belly today for lunch. We are currently on Oahu for a ten day vacation. The staff was very helpful and attentive. As others have mentioned, the lunch food menu is very short, with a total of nine items. We were able to share a noodle bowl (the staff brought extra serving bowls), the beet salad and the pork belly bao appetizer. Everything was very good and servings are interesting and colorful. We'll definitely be back on our return trips to Oahu.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Business Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My IT guy and I went out to lunch and found Lucky Belly open. I had never been there before but my office mates heard it was pretty good. The decor is upscale. I loved that they ripped out all of the old walls that were present when the spot was occupied by Mini Garden and left the old red brick walls in place. The food was delicious. We split a wonderful appetizer: a lamb-filled lumpia w/ a delicious remulade (sp?) sauce. I had the Belly Bowl which was a generous portion of ramen in a miso broth and topped with home-cured bacon, roasted pork belly, and pork sausage. My friend had the bacon chowder and pulled pork sandwich special. The service was terrific: they were attentive and always kept our glasses filled. The atmosphere was humming but not overly crowded. I was sorry to hear that they don't serve deserts. I will definitely return in the future.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Best small plates Asian fusion in Oahu!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stumbled onto this place during our week long vacation, since we had a rental car, we tried to get out of waikiki and explore the food scene around the island... I was a little skeptical in the beginning since their food menu is relatively limited compare to their extensive drink menu... But what a pleasant surprise, every single dish we ordered was 'the bomb', and service was great! Highly recommend the oxtail dumplings...

We were very full at the end of our meal and spent the least amount of money on this dinner during our entire trip...

The sitting area is limited so I recommend making a reservation, you can also bring your own wine here.

It's located at a relatively schetchy part of Chinatown, and one street is bus traffic only, so for us mainlanders, it could take a while to find a good parking spot.

Also they have a take out window that open until 2am!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Food And Atmostphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Located right in Chinatown and a find this place is. Visited within weeks of opening and really enjoyed it. Food was delicious, especially the Oxtail Dumplings (one of their appetizers). Price is average, and overall, felt like the staff was very friendly and made me feel like a valued customer.

Will definitely go again!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucky Belly also viewed

 

Been to Lucky Belly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucky Belly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.