We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service with a Smile at a Budget Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aloha Punawai

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Honolulu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aloha Punawai
Save
You added Aloha Punawai to your Saves list
305 Saratoga Road, Waikiki, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Rocky Mountains
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Service with a Smile at a Budget Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

I can't walk far, so I didn't want to stay in a big hotel where you park a mile away; walk across a lobby and have to wait for an elevator. This hotel had parking practically outside our door. The charge was only about $10.00 per day. The room had a little kitchen and the whole place was spotless. There was a courtyard with tables and chairs. We were greeted by cheerful "Kathy", who showed us our room and then gave us a discount "due to the economy", but it may have been "due to construction noise" of the tower going up at the end of the block. How ever, the noise stopped at 5:00pm, unlike the noise of Honolulu. We couldn't hear much of that because the hotel is on the very edge of Waikiki and there is a park across the street, so there was less traffic than other spots would have. The beach was a long two blocks away, but it wouldn't be a problem for most people. There was an restaurant specializing in egg dishes a few doors down, and a couple of bistros near by, but you have to hunt for them. Around the corner were Chanel, Coach, Lois Vitton, etc. Across from those was a three story mall with a decent food court, open to the outdoors. At dinner time, we were entertained by a singing group and then out came the hula dancers. Surrounding the mall are big hotels with gardens and pools. There were beach chairs to borrow, but if we wanted a beach towel we would have had to wash and dry it, and there was a charge for the machines.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Punawai as an alternative to a pricey hotel we were staying at in downtown Honolulu. The room was very clean, had a complete kitchen, a new bathroom and even parking! Great location, it's walking distance to the beach and all the shopping. Kathy the manager was also very nice. An extrordinary value at $100 per night.

  • Liked — Fair price, great location
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2007

We stayed at the Aloha Punawai for the first time in December of 05 and loved it. We felt very comfortable with the clean but basic accomodations and loved the young couple taking care of the place...they were very helpful with directions and recommendations, were warm, and interesting to talk to. We didn't see much of the owner on our first visit, but she seemed nice enough. The hotel is very clean and great for travelers like us who don't spend much time in the room, so we came back in July of 07 to find a different couple taking care of the property. They were around all the time and we often felt like they were babysitting our comings and goings...very uncomfortable. When we did finally see the owner, she did not remember us nor was she friendly. She barely cracked a smile. The outdoor area was renovated nicely, but the rooms still haven't been updated since 1975. We will not be back for a third visit and recommend you spend and extra ten bucks per night at a place you know you will feel welcome.

  • Liked — The cleanliness, the previous caretakers
  • Disliked — The owner and new caretakers, noise
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2007

I stayed at the Aloha Punawai Hotel because the location is great. The beach is a two minute walk from the hotel and the post office is across the street. The rates are reasonable. I visited Oahu in December 2006 for the Honolulu Marathon and the Aloha Punawai Hotel cost me only $818.93 for seven nights including tax. The owner and staff are friendly and helpful. If you want luxury stay at the Halekulani or Sheraton Moana Surfrider. Aloha Punawai is just right for people who need a safe and clean place to stay in.

  • Liked — Price and location
  • Disliked — No pool
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2007

We booked with this hotel based on the rave review in Frommer's. There are pros and cons associated with the Aloha Punawai. Yes, it was very affordably priced--but the best benefit was the location! It is within walking distance of nice shops-- and only 1/2 block away from the Outrigger, so you can go there for beach access and meals (plenty of dining options). The downside with this hotel--and to us, this was a very big downfall--is the lack of privacy. My husband and I felt like we were in high school, with our comings and goings being monitored by our parents. There appeared to be lots of vacant rooms, yet the innkeeper placed us right next door to her. We felt she was scrutinizing us each time we came and left. She left a huffy note for my husband in our room once when we went out. We were not comfortable at all. Finally, though we did save money by staying here, we were basically staying in a college dorm room. Window air conditioners; a bathroom window that would not shut (opened onto the courtyard where the innkeepers and their friends frequently sat at patio tables);1950-s style appliances; and the cement block walls and sterile tile floors were reminiscent of a hospital room. I could have probably overlooked the lack of personality in the room if I hadn't felt like I was the center of attention for some nosy innkeepers.

Stayed November 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2006

We stayed at this motel-styled hotel from April 20 to April 27th, 2006. It is located half a block from the beach, it's very clean, and the people who run the place are friendly and extremely helpful. When we first arrived, we were disappointed by the cement block walls (although they were painted), the very basic furniture, the lack of a view, and the size of the space. But the place came with a full kitchen, the cleaning service was great, and we were VERY well located, especially considering that we were only paying $95 per night. I should mention that we had our 3 year old and our 10 month old with us, so we weren't planning on splurging on our surroundings. If you want to treat yourself to the luxuries, this isn't the place for you. But if you want a place you can rely on as your launching pad to the sights and events of Waikiki without spending too much money on your accomodation, call this place. We checked out three other hotels while we were there (research for our next trip), and by the time we left, we were extremely grateful we wound up at the Aloha Punawai. Aloha! (Sorry, we didn't take photos of the space.)

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Aloha Punawai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloha Punawai

Address: 305 Saratoga Road, Waikiki, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Aloha Punawai Honolulu
Aloha Punawai Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloha Punawai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.