We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hostel so close to the beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostelling International Waikiki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hostelling International Waikiki to your Saves list
Hostelling International Waikiki
2417 Prince Edward Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic hostel so close to the beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Although not as modern as some hostels I've stayed in, HI Waikiki was clean, spacious and with great facilities. Wifi, laundry, kitchen, beach mat/chair rental, activities board. The staff were nice and you can't beat the location close to restaurants, the beach, supermarket, bus transport. Stairs, no lift, but easily accessible. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Theres noise on both sides of the hostel from either Kuhio Street or Kalakaua Street. It's not s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    56
    19
    7
    2
See reviews for
9
24
88
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Stayed off and on at the Waikiki International Hostel over my 2 weeks tour of the Islands. It's centrally located so busy during high season (so book ahead and be aware there is a 7 night minimum over a 3 month period). Airy, spacious rooms, kept very clean by a hard-working and friendly staff. Near all the bus lines, restaurants, good grocery store. The staff has put together a daily listing of free or cheap activities. They can also help you plan excursions - some at discounted costs. They also the chance to leave your bags for the day and then come back and use the showers if you have a late night flight for only $5! What hotel offers that deal!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumon, Mariana Islands
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

This hostel was about two blocks from Waikiki Beach. It was next to everything. Major bus stop about two blocks away.
I was in an all female room with 5 other roommates. I was on the top bunk. No AC, but plenty of fans to use. That was more than adequate for a comfortable night. The hotel staff gave you a bottom and top sheet along with a pillow case. There was a pillow to use on the bed when you checked into your room.
I never had any trouble using the bathroom when I wanted to. The bath mat and garbage was changed daily. You are expected to bring your own towel and toiletries. Plenty of space for your stuff.
I never had anyone go through my suitcases while I was there for 6 days. I was able to charge my phone in the room. I brought my own lock to lock up my backpack. The lockers hold the size of one backpack.
The common room/kitchen area was adequate. I used the fridge and boiled water, that was about all.
There is no elevator, so you have to carry your own bags/suitcases up at least one flight of stairs to get to the main level. Then you go up stairs again, depending on what floor your room is on.
Staff lock the entry door at night, so no one except hostel guests can come in.
You can use the snorkel equipment and beach chairs and body boards for free from the office. I did not use any, but I saw them in the office each day.
Robert's Hawaii shuttle bus dropped me off and picked me up from this location in a timely manner.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

This is more fourth or fifth stay, and it keeps getting better and better. If you thrive on being able to meet new people from all over the world and enjoy catching up on one another's adventures rather than being isolated in a hotel, this is the spot. Just remember, don't be a priss, clean-up after yourself, be polite and inviting, and you'll return with a collection of stories you'll never forget and friends you can't wait to see again.

Room Tip: Only been in one room, so I don't know if they vary much
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympic National Park, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

The biggest problem with staying at the HI Waikiki is something they cannot control at all -- noise from the garbage trucks early in the AM. Bring your earplugs if you can't stand morning noise (and it'll be pretty loud as you'll want the windows open). Alternately, USE the noise to get out of bed and get an early start on the day, whether it is planning your next road trip around Oahu, a jaunt into downtown, or just watching the sunrise atop Diamondhead.

The facilities are VERY clean here, which not all the hostels on Oahu can say (specifically Backpackers dorm was gross (but still fun)). The kitchen, like all hostels needs new pots and pans, and NOT non-stick which get trashed easily and then present a health hazard from teflon flaking off in food (yikes!).

The staff were OK, but could be friendlier. Maybe it is because they see so many people come and go, but they could reach out a little more and it would go a LONG way. The vibe of the hostelers was very friendly overall. It was easy to meet people and go out on the town or on a day-trip.

Be aware that they are not computerized and will not send you an email confirmation of your reservations, this resulted in us being listed as a no-show for one night when we did not _intend_ to stay that night. Had we been sent something that showed the wrong date, we could have called and clarified what we wanted. Without proof, we had no recourse, which was $70 down the drain.

Room Tip: Away from the street and up high if you can (might help minimize dumpster noise).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

This Hostel is not the most amazing place ever but quite ok if you just need a place to stay for a couple of nights. It's located in a 'quiet' side street 1min off Waikiki Beach. All rooms have an ensuit bathroom which is cleaned every day. The doors of the room are pretty noisy so when people come in later at night they wake up the whole room. Unfortunately there's no gentle way of opening and closing the doors - bummer ! Also the bunk beds are quite loud and shaky.
But the staff is nice and helpfull and the kitchen is big enough for everyone to prepare meals. There's also a little community room with a TV and comfy couches.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Hostelling International Waikiki on three separate occasions over the last 4 years and each stay has been great. The staff is unfailingly friendly, knowledgable, and helpful. The rooms are clean. The kitchen and common area are both clean, well-lit, and user-friendly. They have a LOAD of stuff (for free!!) to help you enjoy your vacation, like beach mats and snorkeling gear. We even brought our baby with us last year and he, too, was welcomed with open arms. We really love staying here. You absolutely cannot beat the experience for the price. I definitely and enthusiastically recommend staying here.

Room Tip: They all seem equally good...just depends on how many stairs you want to walk up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostelling International Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International Waikiki

Address: 2417 Prince Edward Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha, we host all kinds of short term travelers like around the world backpackers, gap year travelers, airline & cruise ship employees, students, families & single travelers. Thanks for considering HI Waikiki! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hostelling International Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Hostelling International Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostelling International Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.