We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Statehouse” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawaii State Capitol

Hawaii State Capitol
415 South Beretania Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI (Downtown Honolulu)
(808) 586-0178
Improve this listing
Ranked #104 of 155 attractions in Honolulu
Type: Government Buildings
Attraction Details
Nashville, TN
Top Contributor
513 reviews 513 reviews
315 attraction reviews
Reviews in 203 cities Reviews in 203 cities
482 helpful votes 482 helpful votes
“Unique Statehouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

If you appreciate history, architecture, or politics, don't miss seeing the Hawaii State Capitol. As you approach the building, stop for a moment to consider the architecture. The design of the building shows the birth of the Hawaiian Islands from volcanoes. Volcanoes, water, trees, and sky are all part of the structure.

No guided tour is offered, but tourists may pick up a self-guiding brochure. We enjoyed a look in the House of Representatives chamber where the representatives were just leaving for a lunch break. We did not get to go inside the Senate chamber because the senators had already left, and the door was locked, but we did get a look through the large windows. When you go to the office to pick up the brochure, be certain to notice the inside, open air architecture of the building. On the grounds, take time to see the statues and Hawaii's copy of the Liberty Bell. Across the road from the "front" of the building is the eternal flame.

The Iolani Palace and the State Capitol building back up to each other. It's easy to tour both in a couple of hours. Take time to appreciate the beautiful old trees between the two structures.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    11
    10
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lehi, Utah
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Impressive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

I love to stop and tour state capitols. This unique building from our youngest state does not disappoint.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Unusual design for capital”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We walked to the capital from Chinatown. We would not have seen it if we had been in our car. Across the street is the palace with beautiful trees. It is a very unique capital building.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
140 attraction reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“If you are interested in State Capitols & their architecture, this one is a must see.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Although there is no guided tour, you may go to each individual office for a tour. (Governor, Lt. Gov., etc.) The architecture, however, is the star. This place is like no other, and represents the atmosphere of the Hawaiian islands perfectly. There is no dome. Well, actually, there is no roof even in the center of the structure. The House & Senate Chambers are cylindrical to represent the volcanoes that created the islands. The facade of the chambers is lava rock. I was very impressed.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, CA
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem -- take the self guiding tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011 via mobile

If you are in the area looking at other key sights (Iolani Palace, State Art Museum), you should definitely visit this impressive and beautiful capital building. Go to room 415 ("constituent affairs") and pick up a free self guided tour of the building and key areas. They let you visit the legislative cheers and Governor and Lt. Governors front office. The Governors office was so impressive with all the Kia wood paneling. If they wanted to convey a feeling of openness and friendliness, this building and the staff certainly do it right. For a brief hour, this is a fun (and free) thing to do.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawaii State Capitol also viewed

 

Been to Hawaii State Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawaii State Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hawaii State Capitol to your Saves list