We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this event close up or watching from the ocean!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kuhio Beach Torch Lighting & Hula Ceremony

Kuhio Beach Torch Lighting & Hula Ceremony
Kuhio Beach Hula Mound, Honolulu, Oahu, HI
+1 808 843 8002
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 159 Attractions in Honolulu
Type: Performances
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Held Tuesday, Thursday, Saturday and Sunday (weather permitting) at 6pm November through January and 6:30pm February through October, this hour-long tradition includes a conch shell blowing, Hawaiian music and hula performances by Hawaii’s finest hula halau (troupes) at the Kuhio Beach Hula Mound near the Duke Kahanamoku Statue. The show varies each night, so it’s worth checking out every evening that’s convenient.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“I love this event close up or watching from the ocean!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The Kuhio Beach Torch Lighting & Hula Ceremony is a free event right near the statue of "Duke K." and you should plan on attending when you are in Hawaii. We often stay in Hawaii for a month and get a chance to see the show several times, whether planned or we might be swimming nearby and hear the music and start to watch from the ocean. It always makes us happy when we watch the Hula ceremony and see very young Hawaiian children performing continuing the traditions of this great island.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    11
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“It's a beautiful sight with the sun setting and the torches lit....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is a wonderful site to see before/after dinner. We see it every time we go. The ambiance is great with the torches lit as the sun is/has set and the eerie conch blowing begins.
It's FREE and we love it. Yes, it gets very crowded and some people don't care at all that they have just stood right in front of you to watch the show, so keep the crowd in mind when you get there early and choose a place to roost.
Some nights are better than others performance-wise, but it really is all good.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
538 reviews 538 reviews
143 attraction reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
“It felt like a hula school recital more than anything.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a GREAT time here tonight! Got here an hour early by chance, and got to watch the sunset while securing our front-and-center seats. The announcer was super cheesy and funny, and we saw kids of all ages performing like pros. I know this is put on by the Hyatt, but you would never guess it... It felt like a hula school recital more than anything.

We didn't get to see a luau while we were here-- plus we're vegetarians, so I'm not sure a luau would be totally our scene anyway, but this was really wonderful and relatable and fun to watch. Highly recommended!

To find it: look for a stage across the street from the Hyatt Regency. They were setting up the A/V at about 5:30 when we got there!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Entertaining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Get there early, shows start around 7:00 p.m. Bring a blanket, you'll be sitting on the sand or grass.
Music and Hula dancing. The show runs an hour. Fun for kids and seniors who do not want to sit for a long time. Cookies are sold at the end, dancers are available for pictures

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Authentic and free”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is the real Hawaii and it is a wonderful opportunity for young performers as well. There is an air of festivity in the crowd that gathers early for a 'good' spot. I loved the energy and enthusiasm of the dancers. There was tenderness and hospitality in the older women who talked us through the traditions. To be on the beach, at dusk, in a warm climate and be given such a nice performance for free certainly feels like a gift. Thank-you.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kuhio Beach Torch Lighting & Hula Ceremony also viewed

 

Been to Kuhio Beach Torch Lighting & Hula Ceremony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kuhio Beach Torch Lighting & Hula Ceremony, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.