We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Walk with Great Views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Makapuu Lighthouse Trail

Makapuu Lighthouse Trail
Near the Hawaii Kai Golf Course on Kalanianaole Highway, Honolulu, Oahu, HI
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$60*
and up
Go Oahu Card
Ranked #48 of 653 Attractions in Honolulu
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Further along Kalanianaole Highway is the Makapuu Lighthouse hiking trail. This easy route with its moderate incline to the 647-ft. summit is a popular spot during whale season between December and April. This is a definite photo opportunity even when humpbacks aren’t spouting offshore. If you’re really ambitious, tackle a pre-sunrise hike to the top so you can grab a glorious photo of the sunrise.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice Walk with Great Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This was a very nice walk with great views from the top - as others suggested give yourself extra time at the top, it's nice to hang out look around at some of the bunkers etc. Be sure you go to the very top - not just the viewing area. It would have been nice to go down and see the lighthouse closer up, but you can't. Definately take water - it gets really warm at certain spots where there is no breeze on the walk.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    544
    258
    28
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ennis, Texas
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“One of the better hikes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I loved this hike! We went further than the lighthouse on the trails through the cacti and native plants, climbing a rough, rocky trail. We were rewarded with WWII bunkers that we were able to look at up close and imagine what life was like as a gunner inside one of these concrete armaments. Now covered with graffiti, and apparently used by homeless people, they are quite a contrast to the gunnery at Diamond Head. The hike is steep, so it makes for good exercise. My 72 year old companion and cancer survivor jogged up, making me feel out of shape for someone quite a bit younger. On the way down, we noticed numerous whales and could hear their tails slapping the water. This hike is excellent.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverine, Michigan
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful views - not for the faint of heart”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This was an amazing view! We got some wonderful photos from here. We were a little disappointed that it took you above the lighthouse & could not go to the lighthouse. The walk is a little on the steep side so take your time. Definitely a must do!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best views in Hawaii...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

It's a long steep walk, very windy and hot but the view is beyond description. Saw cactus plants up top which I didn't expect, the actual lighthouse isn't accessible fwiw but you can look down at it from the top. The color of the water that you see from the top is the most amazing blue you will ever see. Worth the walk just wear good shoes!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, California, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very pretty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

It is a beautiful lighthouse that sit atop a hill overlooking the ocean didn'y like the hike and the crowd

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makapuu Lighthouse Trail also viewed

 

Been to Makapuu Lighthouse Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makapuu Lighthouse Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.