We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Art History Tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri La

Shangri La
Tours arranged through Honolulu Museum of Art, 900 South Beretania Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96814
+1 808-532-3853
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 159 Attractions in Honolulu
Type: Historic Sites, Architectural Buildings, Art Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Doris Duke's home, built in 1930, is an architecturally significant home which includes a collection of Islamic artwork.
Pampa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Art History Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

A friend had mentioned that she enjoyed this tour and I trust her taste, so I booked tickets before we left on our trip. We enjoyed the Hawaii Art Museum and the special exhibit on Hawaiian Art Deco advertisements very much before the tour and even had a very nice lunch in the courtyard of the museum. The tour of Shangri-La was a treat. It was beautiful and full of historic artifacts. I would highly recommend the tour.
The only complaint was that it was not long enough. I would have enjoyed wondering around the grounds, but for obvious reasons that wasn't possible.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    62
    16
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westhampton Beach, NY
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“HIdden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The art and the architecture make Shangri La a hidden gem and a lovely thing to do in Honolulu. You don't have to have a understanding of Islamic Art to appreciate the beauty and diversity of this collection. The home itself is perched right on the ocean. Make sure to make a reservation and plan to have lunch afterwards at the lovely café at the museum. A perfect alternative to a beach day!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A "Must See" make a reservation now!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

If you have multiple days in your visit, and enjoy beautiful art and places, then this is something you should do. You have to take a provided shuttle from Honolulu Museum of Art (your $25. ticket includes admission there, wonderful museum, great place for lunch). But the visit to Shangri-La itself: provides an opportunity to visit one of Honolulu's upscale neighborhoods at the foot of Diamond Head; a small, personalized tour, of an unbelievably historical and beautiful ocean front home; and occasion to explore the art collection and vision of a very interesting lady. The guides were wonderful; but again, don't wait until the last minute, they only take small groups and you must book ahead (this is not a visit for young children).

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“An Islamic heaven on earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Having been to Hawaii twice before and never organised ourselves into this tour, we were determined this time. We booked early and arrived at the museum but read your instructions about where to go i.e. to the side door - we didn't!! The bus ride was enjoyable with a video about Doris Duke's life - I recommend going early and watching it in the Islamic Art section so you can enjoy the scenery - I also recommend reading up on her life and collections beforehand. Our guide, Susan was adorable and made the whole house come alive with her stories and interest in the group - the house and art collection is amazing - and a reflection of this rather strange compulsive woman. You enter another world as you go through the door (gate to heaven) and it is worthwhile putting it into the context of who she was, how she collected, the politics of the time and how her money has left us this legacy. It is a great morning out (book the first tour at 9.00 as it isn't air conditioned) - you get a lovely free fan and an insight into the life of the rich and famous. Wish I could get to her other houses too. All in all, a brilliant tour, well worth the money and I would do it again just to be in that space. No photos inside which takes away all the stress of deciding what to photograph - sit back and enjoy the wonders! They are opening her bedroom soon so that would be an excuse to go back again!!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful art and architecture.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Doris Duke's Shangri La is gorgeous, and I left reluctantly at the end of the tour. The art and architecture in the house is spectacular and impressive, as are the views and the way the house was designed to take advantage of Oahu's fabulous weather. I highly recommend a visit to Shangri La!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shangri La also viewed

 

Been to Shangri La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri La, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.