We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HIdden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri La

Shangri La
Tours arranged through Honolulu Museum of Art, 900 South Beretania Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96814
+1 808-532-3853
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 283 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Doris Duke's home, built in 1930, is an architecturally significant home which includes a collection of Islamic artwork.
Westhampton Beach, NY
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“HIdden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The art and the architecture make Shangri La a hidden gem and a lovely thing to do in Honolulu. You don't have to have a understanding of Islamic Art to appreciate the beauty and diversity of this collection. The home itself is perched right on the ocean. Make sure to make a reservation and plan to have lunch afterwards at the lovely café at the museum. A perfect alternative to a beach day!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    80
    20
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A "Must See" make a reservation now!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

If you have multiple days in your visit, and enjoy beautiful art and places, then this is something you should do. You have to take a provided shuttle from Honolulu Museum of Art (your $25. ticket includes admission there, wonderful museum, great place for lunch). But the visit to Shangri-La itself: provides an opportunity to visit one of Honolulu's upscale neighborhoods at the foot of Diamond Head; a small, personalized tour, of an unbelievably historical and beautiful ocean front home; and occasion to explore the art collection and vision of a very interesting lady. The guides were wonderful; but again, don't wait until the last minute, they only take small groups and you must book ahead (this is not a visit for young children).

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“An Islamic heaven on earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Having been to Hawaii twice before and never organised ourselves into this tour, we were determined this time. We booked early and arrived at the museum but read your instructions about where to go i.e. to the side door - we didn't!! The bus ride was enjoyable with a video about Doris Duke's life - I recommend going early and watching it in the Islamic Art section so you can enjoy the scenery - I also recommend reading up on her life and collections beforehand. Our guide, Susan was adorable and made the whole house come alive with her stories and interest in the group - the house and art collection is amazing - and a reflection of this rather strange compulsive woman. You enter another world as you go through the door (gate to heaven) and it is worthwhile putting it into the context of who she was, how she collected, the politics of the time and how her money has left us this legacy. It is a great morning out (book the first tour at 9.00 as it isn't air conditioned) - you get a lovely free fan and an insight into the life of the rich and famous. Wish I could get to her other houses too. All in all, a brilliant tour, well worth the money and I would do it again just to be in that space. No photos inside which takes away all the stress of deciding what to photograph - sit back and enjoy the wonders! They are opening her bedroom soon so that would be an excuse to go back again!!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful art and architecture.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Doris Duke's Shangri La is gorgeous, and I left reluctantly at the end of the tour. The art and architecture in the house is spectacular and impressive, as are the views and the way the house was designed to take advantage of Oahu's fabulous weather. I highly recommend a visit to Shangri La!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Wonderful tour....easy to consume”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Despite having to start at Museum of Art and get bus to Shangri-la was an effortless and enjoyable experience. Tour is well paced and takes about 2.5 hours from pick up to return to museum.

Even if not a fan of Islamic art the home and intricate mosaics and artefacts are amazing. What I loved was all set in a real home, it does not feel like a museum. Fabulous gardens and views of Diamond Head.

Susan our tour guide was informative and engaging.

A very worthwhile few hours.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shangri La also viewed

 

Been to Shangri La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri La, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.