We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri La

Shangri La
Tours arranged through Honolulu Museum of Art, 900 South Beretania Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96814
+1 808-532-3853
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 159 Attractions in Honolulu
Type: Historic Sites, Architectural Buildings, Art Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Doris Duke's home, built in 1930, is an architecturally significant home which includes a collection of Islamic artwork.
Canberra
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This lovely house is in a wonderful setting. The decor is fantastic - much more ornate than my taste normally, but tasteful nevertheless. The whole experience was enjoyable.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    62
    16
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem of Oahu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I would recommend that everyone take the tour of Doris Duke's estate and Islamic art collection. First, the grounds of her estate are dream-like and idylic, and the house was state-of-the-art for its time. Second, her art collection is one of the finest to be found; most people will be suitably impressed by what they see there. People come from all over the world to study her collections. I highly recommend that all efforts be made by everyone to visit Doris' Shangri La estate.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“The Doris Duke Foundation Makes a Great Presentation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Only about 50 people are lucky enough to visit here daily. Reservations are made through the Honolulu Museum of Art (which is also a great place to visit, not only for its exhibits but also for Bertram Goodhue's architecture and grounds design). Shangri La's collection of Islamic/Arabic art is impressive. It includes religious works and everyday life pieces. It covers many places and different times. This is a terrific "off the beaten path" visit.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A different perspective of Doris Duke”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

A beautiful spot near Diamond Head. One must make reservations ahead of time and then meet at the Honolulu Museum of Art for a 15 minutes shuttle ride to Sangri La.
I like the fact that I gained a better appreciation of Doris Duke when I learned about the many anonymous donations she made during her lifetime. I like her hands on involvement in creating Shangri La. I dislike the lack of air conditioning inside Shangri La which made part of the tour quite uncomfortable. If you appreciate and enjoy islamic art and decor, you will enjoy Shangri La.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“favorite place ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

this is a must in hawaii a MUST! awesome spot, great stories, tour is wonderful, house is beautiful.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shangri La also viewed

 

Been to Shangri La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri La, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;