We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hanauma Bay Snorkeling” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanauma Bay Nature Preserve

Hanauma Bay Nature Preserve
100 Hanauma Bay Drive, ueber Kalanianaole Highway, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96825
808 396 4229
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #15 of 159 Attractions in Honolulu
Type: Beaches, Bodies of Water, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, State Parks, Parks
Activities: Snorkeling
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A perfect snorkeling spot.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hanauma Bay Snorkeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great place to take the family and educate them about the marine life, volcanos and the ocean. Scuba diving, snorkeling, swimming and just having a great time. Nothing compares to the beautiful blue of the Pacific Ocean and the sunny beaches of this bay.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,078 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,091
    1,243
    518
    164
    62
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
71 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Awesome snorkeling!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

If you're in Honolulu and want to go snorkeling then Hanauma Bay is a must. The water is clear and there are plenty of fish. I went with my family of 6. We had never snorkeled before and we loved it. We had only planned to stay 2 or 3 hours but ended up staying half the day. This was one of our favorite things we did in Hawaii.

Go early as it gets crowded as the day goes on. There is a snorkel rental place right on the beach. Take water and snacks as there isn't anywhere to buy food on the beach. You have to walk back up the long steep hill to get food.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place to snorkel and see fish up close”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We live in Honolulu and have visited the place a number of times alone and also with visitors and grandchildren (a great place for them as it is shallow and with a live west save for pre-school kids)
There is a parking lot which fills up, so it is good to go early. There is also a Beach bus #22 from Waikiki which goes right to the park. Everybody is required to attend a film presentation prior to walking (or riding a shuttle) down to the beach area. It covers safety, do's and don'ts and general info. There are life guards on duty.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Suspended Animation At Hanama Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Watching the short documentary before snorkeling at Hanama Beach felt like suspended animation. It brought up memories of my last visit in the summer of 1969. My family and I chose to walk rather than ride down to the beach spending just a few hours snorkeling. However, we had so much fun snorkeling we spent the entire day. I was astonished to swim around a large turtle although there weren't as many colorful fish as there were nearly forty years ago. I loved the trolley ride back to the parking lot and met a couple of elementary school music teachers which made the day even more enchanting.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is the best place to snorkel on this side of the island. It has suffered a lot of coral damage and is sometimes cloudy inside the reef from the many people who stand up in the water.

Outside the reef the conditions are much better. Only go outside if you are a good swimmer and aren't afraid of the water. The best spot is outside the reef to the right just before the outcropping of rocks (the Witch's Brew).

I go there a couple of times a month.

There's food and drink by the entrance. You can walk or ride the trolley up and down. Equipment rental is down by the beach.

This is a very safe place because a lot of the water is very shallow inside most of the reef.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanauma Bay Nature Preserve also viewed

 

Been to Hanauma Bay Nature Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanauma Bay Nature Preserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.